Falmouth tug loss

rushie
30th May 2006, 10:52
Hi,

Whilst in a Falmouth pub at the weekend I heard a story of a BP ship dragging a tug under at the port.

Has anyone got any info of the incident.?

Thanks,

Rushie

dom
30th May 2006, 11:12
belive it was the british sailor 32,000t think it came under the stern and the prop.caught it i belive 2 of the tug lost their lives.
sorry thats all
dom

rushie
1st June 2006, 19:30
Thanks Dom....a sad affair then. By the way the conversation went, I believe they salvaged the tug.

Rushie

treeve
1st June 2006, 21:16
Story on ...
http://archive.thisisthewestcountry.co.uk/2003/6/26/29793.html

Best Wishes
Raymond

Nigel Wing
4th November 2006, 20:50
Rushie.
It was the British Sailor involved with the sinking of the Falmouth tug, Lynch.
Several years later while I was an Apprentice at Falmouth Docks, another accident occured, British Justice, while moving to No 2 drydock from the Queens wharf dragged the tug Codicote Scot on her side, and under, she was also salvaged and subsequently returned to service.

rushie
5th November 2006, 14:00
Thanks Nigel,

I bet BP were popular down there then...!

Rushie

janner
12th November 2006, 20:08
Hi Rushie,

There were two occassions of tugs being sunk in Falmouth since 1950. The first was the Lynch in 1953 which was sliced open by the screw of the British Sailor. Luckily no lives were lost. The second was in 1960 when the St Levan now resting in Vancouver and formerly the Codicote Scot was pulled over by the British Justice before the release pin could be released. The Fireman and Engineer had a lucky escape. The latter was my late father in law.

Hope this also helps

Janner

Nigel Wing
15th November 2006, 21:16
Janner.

the ex Falmouth tug, now in Vancouver is the St Eval. what happened to the St Levan ex Codicote Scot, will need a little research, will keep you posted.

Nigel

Gary Gill
24th January 2007, 18:47
Hi all,