Furness Bridge

Fairfield
13th September 2004, 10:11
She was the first,I think in a series of 150000dwt ore/oil carriers built at Middlesbrough in the 1970s for various owners in the Seabridge consortium hence the BRIDGE names.
In later years,this became a controversial class of ships,mainly due to one,LIVERPOOL BRIDGE built for Bibby Line and later renamed DERBYSHIRE which sank in a violent storm with the loss of all of her crew.
However,this was in the future in 1971 when this photograph was taken at Greenock when FURNESS BRIDGE arrived for some work to be done on the Clyde.

Chouan
25th June 2007, 14:56
Haverton Hill, not Middlesbrough.

non descript
25th June 2007, 15:07
Chouan,

Wow... It may be the way I am reading it, and it was really meant as a gentle and amusing comment, but in the cold light of day, your comment looks a tad abrupt.

I am far from an expert, but I would have said that as Haverton Hill is an area of Middlesborough, your "correction" is somwhat uncalled for.

For those of our Members who are not familar with the geography of that part of the UK, this one (http://www.streetmap.co.uk/newmap.srf?x=448500&y=522500&z=5&sv=448500,522500&st=4&mapp=newmap.srf&searchp=newsearch.srf&ax=448500&ay=522500) may help.
Mark

japottinger
25th June 2007, 15:28
Hello Tonga,

can you tell me what is the current status of the former Smiths South Bank drydock?
I recall being there on Manipur etc, there was a fairly drab pub just beside the railway line and cross over bridge.
Saalams,
Jim

non descript
25th June 2007, 15:34
Jim,

You are giving me credit things I know nothing about. - What I know about Middlesborough could be written on the left-hand paw of a baby Flying Fox, and still leave room for the recipe for Nuku'alofa Kava Royale. (Jester)

I will leave others to give you a proper answer.
Mark

trotterdotpom
26th June 2007, 13:23