British Crown

Graham Wallace
24th July 2006, 05:36
Does anyone know what happened to the wreckage of the British Crown that exploded at Umm Said 20th August 1966 and was abandoned in Jan 1967.

If you have any information whatsoever about the incident or personnel involved I would be interested to hear it.

I have been researching the incident now for 4 years but feel there is still more information around.

Graham Wallace

treeve
24th July 2006, 11:49
Found at
http://archiver.rootsweb.com/th/read/Mariners/1999-07/0932356159
David Edge wrote ...
The "British Crown" caught fire and exploded while loading at Umm Said ( Musay’id ) on 20
August 1966 when almost fully loaded with crude for Kwinana. 18 crew and
the mooring supervisor were killed, 41 survivors were winched off by
helicopters. Blazing from stem to stern the "British Crown" was towed from
her berth the following day and beached. The fire was not extinguished
until 25 October. The forepart of the hulk was later reported to have been
sunk. According to Lloyds' "Modern Shipping Disasters" the fire began in
the Engine Room but I seem to recall that suspicion centered on the
'midships ventilation fans igniting gas as tanks were 'topped off'.
I see your query at
http://www.fortressweymouth.co.uk/merch.htm
I mention this in case it may bring any more answers

Photo fo British Bulldog ( sister ship ) at Falmouth on
http://www.gwynedd.gov.uk/DATRhagorol/cgi-bin/dangosdelwedd.english.pl?itemid=87714

Best Wishes
Raymond

Blade Fisher
10th September 2006, 13:07
Hello again Graham,

Yes I looked at this a few years ago as my father missed this only to cop it four years later. I do have some old photocopy photographs of the wreck. It was still nearby in the spring of 1970 as the Thorland berthed at Umm Said and a party went over to have a look. Somewhere I read the authorities salvaged the wreck but can't remember where I read that.

Graham Wallace
22nd March 2007, 18:53