Ahoy,
Here the British Restraint built in 1943 and broken up in 1959;
Vessel type: Tanker
Tonnage: 8,448
Owner: BP Shipping

John_F
1st January 2007, 18:22
Ruud,
Thanks for posting - you're obviously digging deep down into your shoebox of old photos!
Completed by Cammell Laird on July 7th 1943, of 12,237 dwt, she was laid up by BP in Falmouth in December 1957. In April 1959 she was sold to the Indian Trading & Transport Establishment of Lichenstein but by May of that year she had been sold for scrap to Terreste Marittima S.p.A of Spezia. All her machinery had been removed before she was towed, interestingly, by Turmoil (she of Flying Enterprise fame) to Spezia.
I remember seeing her in Falmouth in February 1959 when I was a first trip apprentice on the Glory, there for her annual MOT, & thinking how lucky I was to be on board a large (32,000 dwt) modern vessel compared with the Restraint. In later years, I learned how wrong I was.
Many thanks, Ruud.
Kind regards,
John.

ruud
1st January 2007, 18:35
Ahoy John,
As promised, I told you to come up with some "oldies", even older as this one, but I like her this way;a nice stylish formed tanker, with a midships.
Also collect these as my favorites, and looking after them day by day.And sometimes I do receive some very old ones,as bonus, when ordered some of them.
Btw, thanks for the added info on her, most appreciated,and I think all supporters of tankers will do.At least they looked like vessels.(Thumb)
Note:
Here an example of such bonus cards, the British Lord 1922,even don't know if she was a BP tanker, but sure it's an oldie, unfortunately not the best shot, but I haven't seen her in my life before.

alastairjs
4th January 2007, 19:41