Looking for ex Ellerman guys

john g
20th January 2007, 19:24
Do any ex Ellerman guys recall any of the Sumpton family all of who sailed with the company in various deck officer capacities. The father was a captain who was on the City of Sydney way back in the 50's

AlexBooth
20th January 2007, 21:22
Name rings a bell, have check my "hard drive" to try an remember where when, be back at you if/when I remember.
Cheers

john g
21st January 2007, 17:57
Thanks Alex I grew up with the youngest son he went to Ellerman as a deck officer I went to Brocks as an engineer, then we lost touch. If there is any info out there maybe any of you guys could contact me privatley throu the site e-mail I don't like to mention names or identify people openly....Thanks

Douglas Young
17th March 2007, 21:19
I was 2nd Mate on City of Bath (Captain Watkins) when the City of Manchester towed her into Colombo with Captain Sumpton as Master. He did a marvellous job of picking up the tow off Dondra head. Bath through No.6 through the side of the engine when the bottom end bolts carried away.
Dave Sumpton was a pilot in Durban in the 70's to 90's - unfortunately I do not know where he is now.

AlexBooth
18th March 2007, 04:53
I was 2nd Mate on City of Bath (Captain Watkins) when the City of Manchester towed her into Colombo with Captain Sumpton as Master. He did a marvellous job of picking up the tow off Dondra head. Bath through No.6 through the side of the engine when the bottom end bolts carried away.
Dave Sumpton was a pilot in Durban in the 70's to 90's - unfortunately I do not know where he is now.