Interior design

PeterG
2nd February 2007, 12:15
I have just been browsing on the Brittany Ferries Enthusiasts website, and was looking at pictures of the interior fiitngs. I'm no design expert, but even the new ferry Pont-Aven is awful internally.
Why do all ferries have multicoloured carpets that look like they have been designed by toddlers with crayons. The seats are bright multicoloured.
It all looks so tacky.

Bearsie
2nd February 2007, 12:47
Because architects are the "avantgarde" of a society gone tacky?
Its not just the inside of ferries either.
It's everywhere, houses;inside and out; cars, ships, you name it...

hhvferry
2nd February 2007, 20:56
I have just been browsing on the Brittany Ferries
Enthusiasts website, and was looking at pictures of the interior fiitngs. I'm no design expert, but even the new ferry Pont-Aven is awful internally.
Why do all ferries have multicoloured carpets that look like they have been designed by toddlers with crayons. The seats are bright multicoloured.
It all looks so tacky.I have to say it's the first time I've ever seen the Pont-Aven of all ships described as tacky! Maybe the pictures on BFE don't do justice to what is a very sophisticated and luxurious cruise-ferry, but whilst fingers could be pointed at ships like the Color Fantasy as perhaps slightly (!) over the top in decor the same couldn't really be levelled at Brittany Ferries. BF have been using Architectes et Ingénieurs Associés for about 20 years as their interior designers and they are generally very highly regarded; that said I'm rather more of a fan of other recemt AIA-designed ships such as the Seafrance Berlioz, Mont St Michel or Napoleon Bonaparte than the 'Pont' herself - the bar and the self-service being the two areas I'm least keen on.