Ships Nostalgia banner

commodore charnley.............

5K views 23 replies 14 participants last post by  Bob Preston 
#1 ·
anyone remember him????????????

sparkie2182

#3 · (Edited)
Very much so. I sailed with him quite frequently and came to be known as one of "Chuckles's" men.
I first met him when i was cadet and he was on one of his first commands on Constance Bowater.
My first voyage as 3rd Officer was with him on Roslin Castle
I then sailed as Extra second officer and second officer on Pendennis Castle with him for quite some time and then went with him to Windsor Castle when he was promoted to Commodore.
I like to think that he asked for me to sail with him as I was an officer that could be relied upon during the night but I suspect it was really that we shared a passion for golf and would nearly always sneak off in Port Elizabeth and play at Humewood together. Whilst playing I was allowed to call him Harold...... (a secret I have never revealed until today).
He had a great love of classical music and always brought his hi-fi and record collection to sea. He was often found in his dayroom, music up full blast and Chuckles standing at a lecturn with baton conducting an imaginary orchestra.
I held him in great respect and affection he was one of those masters who was there when you wanted him and not there when you didnt.
I understand he died a few years ago.

#4 ·
Is this the "Chuckles Charnley" I sailed with as Staff Commander on the Windsor Castle about 1964ish.( Wife is no help on this one, she can't remmember the year either ). Every one in Union Castle seemed to have a nick name.e.g. Swivel Eye Loyd, Logger Loyd, Windjammer Wilson, Happy Jack Wassell. It wasn't only the men. We had a Patsy The Nipple, a ****allina a Tattyhead.Very few were complimentry.

Bob Preston ( The Golly )

#5 ·
Commodore Charnley was always known as Chuckles, although very professional he could always see the funny side of a situation.