Ships Nostalgia banner

Glen Line Officer Detained in China

9K views 12 replies 10 participants last post by  Dod Caukie 
#1 ·
Can any of the members recall, I think it was a second mate being taken off a Glen Line ship in China for marking up a chart or some other minor act which upset the Chinese. I believe he was held for a good spell while it was sorted out. I remember hearing of this story when on the Glenaffric (formerly Nestor) when we were leaving Tsingtao around 1969.
If anyone has more details I would love to hear the full story.
Thanks.
Succour

#3 ·
I was a junior engineer (7th I think) on Glengyle in 1960 when, whilst in Tientsin, the assistant pursor, whose name was Sam, from Leeds was arrested by the chinese guards at the local club for defacing posters depicting
The Big Leap Forward. He was held for about 3 days and cost the company a fair bit to get him released.
Hope this helps.

Kennicott

#5 · (Edited)
They (the Chinese) were having a field day around that time. The trip after I went on leave all the officers except the Old Man and Chief were taken off the "Eastern Moon" (Jardines) in Shanghai for similar alleged minor 'crimes'. After making them kneel on pallets for a few hours in the hot sun while hundreds of Red Guards jeered them, they were paraded along the other ships with a ripped up red ensign around their necks. After a couple of days in prison they were put into house arrest in the Seamens Club and made to read Chairman Mao's thoughts all day. I think it was a couple of weeks later they were all taken to the Hong Kong border and repatriated. With the exception of the 2nd Mate all were told they would be welcome back to the Peoples Republic. (!!)