Stokers & trimmers - Ships Nostalgia
03:23

Welcome
Welcome!Welcome to Ships Nostalgia, the world's greatest online community for people worldwide with an interest in ships and shipping. Whether you are crew, ex-crew, ship enthusiasts or cruisers, this is the forum for you. And what's more, it's completely FREE.

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.
User Name Password

Stokers & trimmers

Old 24th May 2005, 02:05
Registered Member

My location
Stokers & trimmers

Last night whilst browsing on the net I came across a couple of brief articles on stokers and trimmers, they were mainly about people on warships but I would imagine they would operate similarly on merchant ships.

I never sailed on a ship that burned coal so I've had no experience but I doubt I could imagine a less glamorous job. Imagine during the war on a stormy Atlantic convoy, in the bowells of a defenceless merchant ship, the heat and dust and the expectancy of a torpedo coming through the side at any moment. That and a world without rum would have to be my vision of hell.

They must have been very strong physically and mentally. I would like to read more about these men can anybody steer me to a web site where I can learn more about them.

A house is only a badly designed ship
Old 24th May 2005, 02:40
Registered Member

My location
Stokers

Apparently they were also known as the black hole gang, many thanks for the reference Zelda

Old 24th May 2005, 04:14
Registered Member

My location
Stokers

Exactly as I'd imagined the conditions, what a wonderful description, you could almost see the picture.

Old 24th May 2005, 05:00

And which reminds me of the song "A'firing the Mauretania" which says it all about the black gang down below..certainly very tough individuals in every respect to have stood the rigours of the job.
Old 24th May 2005, 06:56
Registered Member

My location
Don't know the song Doug could you hum it for me please?

Old 24th May 2005, 07:48