SS Camorta - Ships Nostalgia
19:33

Welcome
Welcome!Welcome to Ships Nostalgia, the world's greatest online community for people worldwide with an interest in ships and shipping. Whether you are crew, ex-crew, ship enthusiasts or cruisers, this is the forum for you. And what's more, it's completely FREE.

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.
User Name Password

SS Camorta

Old 25th August 2008, 20:26

SS Camorta

Has anyone any photo or arrangement drawing of the CAMORTA she was built by INGLIS on the Clyde and lost in a typhoon inthe Bay of Bengal im 1906
Old 25th August 2008, 21:02

Tom, there is a SMALL photo of her about three quarters of the way down the following page:

http://www.biship.com/logentries7.htm

Bruce
Old 12th February 2009, 21:08

SS Camorta

Hi Bruce,
Thank you for guiding me to the photo of Camorta. I am a marine painter. and have painted her before with info gained from Duncan Haws, Merchant Fleet Series. The book on British India which gives information and a small side elevation drawing, This photo is invaluable as I will paint her again with more accuracy.
The Camort was lost in a typhoon in 1906 in the Bay of Bengal near Rangoon with heavy loss of life. My grandfathers brother was an officer on board
Once again many thanks Tom.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Merchant ~ Camorta BI 01.jpg (68.9 KB, 45 views)
Old 12th February 2009, 22:17

Hello Tom:
It's strange, I've read that the sinking resulted in the fourth greatest loss of life of any British merchant ship disaster, but there doesn't appear to be an online photo of the ship other than that small one on the BIShips site.
That's a really fine painting and I'm glad you are sharing it with our members.
Your painting imbues her with a sense of frailty and it staggers the imagination to know that over 700 died when she went down.