Ships Nostalgia banner

Nautical Lecturers we knew

9K views 32 replies 22 participants last post by  CaptRobert 
#1 ·
I am thinking now of Liverpool: Ozzie Stewart, Frank Main, Chalkie (First Mates) and the younger ones Alan Bole, Len Holder, Terry Beggs.
Any memories?

#5 ·
Wasn't Terry Beggs Captain Superintendent of the Indefatigable shore scholl at Llanfairpwll, Anglesey. I think I am right ! If so, he and Capt Parry Hughes published a wonderful book on the Menai Straits - full of graet photos which terry Beggs took. I understand he was a very good photographer.
Regarding lecturers, not many of you will remember Nellists Nautical Academy in Newcastle on Tyne. I studied for 2nd Mate there in 1946 or 7. Neither of the two brothers had ever been to sea but their success rate was the best in the country.
Sid

#10 ·
'Bomber' Lancaster had 3 pet hates,

1) Long haired coffee bar cowboys
2) People who smoked
3) Women who played bingo

Needless to say he ended up marrying his landlady, who smoked 30 a day, and spent her evenings at the bingo hall.

A great guy when we came up for 2nd Mates.

#8 ·
All,
I was up in front of an Examiner Captain ----- ?(yes, above Burtons) for Coxswain Second Class when at the Boulevard Nautical School in Hull in 1958, can someone please enlighten me as to his name.
He was ferocious we lived in terror.
Yours aye,
Slick

#9 ·
When I was at Nellists Nautical Academy doing 2nd Mates in 1945 there was a chap briefly in our digs who was doing his 3rd orals for master. At his first oral he had disagreed with the examnier over some point and had been failed and told to come back after 3 or 6 months back at sea. He came back - went into the orals - was asked same question - stuck to his answer - sent back to sea again. Third time examiner relented and passed him. Wish I could remember what the bone of contention was between them.

#16 ·