Hansen Bros. Shipping Co. Cardiff - Ships Nostalgia
11:43

Welcome
Welcome!Welcome to Ships Nostalgia, the world's greatest online community for people worldwide with an interest in ships and shipping. Whether you are crew, ex-crew, ship enthusiasts or cruisers, this is the forum for you. And what's more, it's completely FREE.

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.
User Name Password

Hansen Bros. Shipping Co. Cardiff

Old 11th November 2009, 20:48

Smile Hansen Bros. Shipping Co. Cardiff

Hi there, I'm new to this so I hope I am in the right forum! I am trying to find out where the records of the Hansen Bros. shipping company are kept. I would like to know who was the captain of the ship SS Stevenstone when it was launched. It was built in Northam, Devon, in 1921 for the Hansen Bros. company of Cardiff. It was lost at sea in December 1921 carrying coal from Blyth to Elsinore with loss of all life, including my Grandfather. The captain that was lost at sea was not the original one, as he was sacked for being drunk! My father (now 88 yrs old) never knew his father & is trying to find out all the details. If anyone can point me in the direction of these records I would be very grateful! Thanks!
Old 13th November 2009, 11:33
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Engineering
Active: 1962 - 1970

My location
I've never heard of Hansen of Cardiff, so they were probably gone before 1956. There were some archives, of other Cardiff shipping companies transferred to the University of Wales Cardiff Library. Perhaps some of our archivists could shed a little more light.

As an aside, a Great great aunt of mine was school teacher at Northam, one of her nephews, born in Appledore, moved to Barry in 1912ish to work at the new Barry graving dock company.

Meanwhile, welcome aboard from the flat bit of Europe, have a good trip!

Last edited by Billieboy : 13th November 2009 at 11:35.
Old 13th November 2009, 19:33