35mm Slides - Ships Nostalgia
11:27

Welcome
Welcome!Welcome to Ships Nostalgia, the world's greatest online community for people worldwide with an interest in ships and shipping. Whether you are crew, ex-crew, ship enthusiasts or cruisers, this is the forum for you. And what's more, it's completely FREE.

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.
Log in
User Name Password

35mm Slides

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 30th June 2010, 12:06
Brian Bunyard Brian Bunyard is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 274
Post 35mm Slides

I have a large number of 35mm colour sldies.

I have a scanner as part of a copier and fax machine, but I try and scan the slide I get a very poor result.

What is the soloution.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30th June 2010, 12:29
hen llongwr's Avatar
hen llongwr hen llongwr is offline  
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Deck
Active: 1959 - 1964
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Bunyard View Post
I have a large number of 35mm colour sldies.

I have a scanner as part of a copier and fax machine, but I try and scan the slide I get a very poor result.

What is the soloution.
I use to work for a scan & copy compay, they would scan
any thing print it put on a cd, try looking up one in your
area, it doe'st cost a lot.
SCANIT AFRICA PO BOX 10060 aston manor pretoria 1630
tel +27 (11) 391-8636
E-mail squib@scanit.co.za

Last edited by hen llongwr : 30th June 2010 at 12:48.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th June 2010, 13:10
Malky Glaister Malky Glaister is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 854
Scanning slides

Hi, There are quite a few scanners on the market that will deal with slides and negatives with excellent results. You do need a computor. The resulting images can be altered with software suites available for this purpose.
It is quite time consuming but you will be pleased,
regards Malky Glaister
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th June 2010, 18:39
Pat McCardle's Avatar
Pat McCardle Pat McCardle is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5,905
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Bunyard View Post
I have a large number of 35mm colour sldies.

I have a scanner as part of a copier and fax machine, but I try and scan the slide I get a very poor result.

What is the soloution.

Yes Brian you need a scanner that has the capability to copy the slides. If you have Windows XP or less you can have my scanner free, as I have Vista & the computer doesn't recognise it!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th June 2010, 19:45
gadgee gadgee is offline   SN Supporter
Super Moderator
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Navigation
Active: 1966 - 1979
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,486
Yes you need a scanner which is meant for scanning slides and usually has a special holder into which the slides clip. As Malky says this is carried out via a PC with the associated programme which in the case of my Canoscan 4200F came with the scanner.
__________________
Paul J.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st July 2010, 01:09
IMRCoSparks IMRCoSparks is offline  
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
My location
Posts: 89
Here in Canada this product is available. There must be something similar in the UK.

http://www.londondrugs.com/Cultures/...2&ProductTab=3

Oops, just noticed you are in SA
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2nd July 2010, 05:08
Jan Hendrik's Avatar
Jan Hendrik Jan Hendrik is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,959
Brian, just go through all the threads on this subject.
It fills a rainy Sunday and you will get some good advice from other members.
Jan
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2nd July 2010, 17:11
hawkey01's Avatar
Super Moderator
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Radio Officer
Active: 1964 - 1998
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
My location
Posts: 5,215
Brian,

You need an attachment - special frame - which fits over the copying deck. It will be hard to copy 35mm slides without it, unless you make up something.
By chance this morning I found some very old - 1960s 35mm colour film which I took in Canada. I have attached a couple of pictures. This was using my Epson RX520 scanner - I am sure they have superseded this model now. Considering the dust and years of lying around they have not turned out too badly.
This subject has come up many times before and I think that a lot of the new machines do not have the facility for 35mm slides/film. You would have to search around.

Hawkey01
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Top-1.jpg (143.7 KB, 89 views)
File Type: jpg Top-10.jpg (148.6 KB, 81 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2nd July 2010, 19:18
Billieboy Billieboy is offline  
member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Engineering
Active: 1962 - 1970
 
Join Date: May 2009
My location
Posts: 4,305
Was the first photo taken, leaving Port Albernie, Hawkeye?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 3rd July 2010, 08:16
J Boyde J Boyde is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 766
Mine is a Epson stylus Photo Rx650, Took a lomg time to find one that does the slides, via the computor. I have know idea how many slides I have changed on the printor via the computor. Have a problem at the moment, the memory from a stroke stops me working out the printer works. I, like I am sure, many, have many slides that need to be be changed before they become part of history.
Jim B
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 3rd July 2010, 08:44
rickles23's Avatar
rickles23 rickles23 is offline  
Senior Member
Organisation: Royal Navy
Department: Deck
Active: 1951 - 2010
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
My location
Posts: 1,664
Hi,
I still have and use my Jenscan for slides and film. When I scan a slide it will save it at 40Mbs. Yes Megabytes but the detail is superb and I always drop the size of the file whem converting to a Bitmap.
Although costly, using a camera store may be a solution to the problem.
For Pat, does Vista not have the Compatibility Wizard? I had to use this on XP to get the Jenscan to go.
Regards
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 3rd July 2010, 11:29
Pat McCardle's Avatar
Pat McCardle Pat McCardle is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5,905
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickles23 View Post
Hi,
For Pat, does Vista not have the Compatibility Wizard? I had to use this on XP to get the Jenscan to go.
Regards
No compatablity with Vista with my HP scanner but I wonder if I can download the software?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 3rd July 2010, 12:40
hawkey01's Avatar
Super Moderator
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Radio Officer
Active: 1964 - 1998
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
My location
Posts: 5,215
Billieboy,

As we were fully loaded at the time it would have been sailing from Tahsis. We had been to Port Alberni but we finished off in Tahsis.

Hawkey01
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 5th July 2010, 11:18
Billieboy Billieboy is offline  
member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Engineering
Active: 1962 - 1970
 
Join Date: May 2009
My location
Posts: 4,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawkey01 View Post
Billieboy,

As we were fully loaded at the time it would have been sailing from Tahsis. We had been to Port Alberni but we finished off in Tahsis.

Hawkey01
Thanks Hawkey, it seemed familiar.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 5th July 2010, 15:27
Allan Wareing Allan Wareing is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 187
scanner

Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgee View Post
Yes you need a scanner which is meant for scanning slides and usually has a special holder into which the slides clip. As Malky says this is carried out via a PC with the associated programme which in the case of my Canoscan 4200F came with the scanner.
I have been using a Canoscan 3000F for some years now with excellent results on 35mm colour slides and B and W negatives. Only down side is that it only handles one slide at a time.
Allan.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 5th July 2010, 15:40
stevie-w stevie-w is offline  
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Navigation
Active: 1977 - 1988
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 227
Brian, I use an Epson V700 which is at the top end of the price ladder. however I chose it because I can scan negatives in 35mm, slides in several formats and it is also a flatbed scanner for those photos that you no longer have the negs for.
I can thoroughly recommend it- all of the shots in my gallery are done with it, mostly from 35mm negatives but some from 6" x 4" colour prints.
__________________
Give me a lever long enough and a place to put it, and I can move the world...........
Regards, Steve Weston
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 5th July 2010, 16:41
NoMoss's Avatar
NoMoss NoMoss is offline   SN Supporter
a.k.a. Ted Sandle
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Radio Officer
Active: 1956 - 1986
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
My location
Posts: 944
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billieboy View Post
Thanks Hawkey, it seemed familiar.
That brings back memories. I was there on the Stanwear and we loaded around the Island then finished off in Portland, where we sailed on July 4th. We had quite an escort of small craft down the river.
__________________


Ted (36 in a 75-year-old body)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 28th July 2010, 17:28
Trampshipman's Avatar
Trampshipman Trampshipman is offline  
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Deck
Active: 1949 - 1954
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 242
scanning and copying slides.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Bunyard View Post
I have a large number of 35mm colour sldies.

I have a scanner as part of a copier and fax machine, but I try and scan the slide I get a very poor result.

What is the soloution.

Brian,
For this purpose I purchased`online`a Canoscan 8800F. It does a pretty good job and I`m happy with it. I`ve used editing software on some shots, but in the main this has not been necessary. Of course you will need a PC. I am still running with Windows XP.
Best of luck !
Ken.
__________________
Trampshipman
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 30th November 2010, 15:52
andysk's Avatar
andysk andysk is offline   SN Supporter
Super Moderator (L)
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Radio Officer
Active: 1970 - 1978
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,693
Just catching up after a long absence from SN, and found this thread.

If scanning slides and negatives, for the best results you need to be able to project the light through the slide/negative from above. Most flatbed scanners offering this have a mirror box of some sort that bounces the light around, but this gives an inferior result, and only does one at a time.

For the best results, you need to get a scanner with a separate light source in the lid, and a frame for holding up to 12 35mm slides which are scanned at the same time.

I have an Epson 4990, now superceded by the Vxxx series, that does just this. It delivers a file of about 5-7 Mb and in a choice of formats. I set mine up to scan 8 slides in a batch, that takes about 45-50 minutes, time enough to get through the bathroom and dining room.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 30th November 2010, 17:22
Graham Wallace Graham Wallace is offline  
Senior Member
Department: Engineering
Active: 1955 - 1962
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 897
Bryan,

Last year I decided to scan all my colour slides dating back to around 1963, put 'em on a cd and give them to my family for future memories.

There were around 2000, the old 1963/64 were mounted in thick plastic frames the remainder in thin Kodak cardboard frames. I could never get the plastic frame slides to focus and so removed the slide from the frame and then it was OK.

The kodak mounted slides were never a problem

I bought an Epson 1260 scanner around 2003 and still use it today for normal 'single' action use.
I bought that specific model as it had adaptors for scanning slides. A flat plate that the slide was placed into and a palm sized back light which is placed over it. It is so long ago I cannot remember the software but transferred it with each computer I had, I now use a laptop.

Some other scanningdevices at the time had a slot in the top cover which took a strip of negatives.

My slide transfer was successful, but he time taken was horrendous, I think around 6 weeks and quite a few hours each day. Sometimes I thought I would go nuts but managed to carry on .....2000 repetitions of slide in place,top light placed on,scan time, remove back light ,transfer to computer and check quality !

But a great result and my family delighted, there was no way I could ever show them 2000 old slides.

Hopefully I have attached 2 photos of the rig I used

GOOD LUCK !

Graham Wallace
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1-35mm slide scanning.JPG (138.1 KB, 49 views)
File Type: jpg 2- 35 MM slide scanning.JPG (165.3 KB, 43 views)
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 30th November 2010, 23:11
Duncan112's Avatar
Duncan112 Duncan112 is offline  
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Engineering
Active: 1981 - 2003
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
My location
Posts: 2,155
I use a Nikon Coolscan III bought off ebay - stunning results but uses a SCSI interface which requires a bit of fiddling to get Vista and 7 to recognise it. Later Coolscans are USB types which are plug and play - but a bit more expensive.
__________________
“Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.”

George Santayana (1863 - 1952)
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 4th December 2010, 16:00
BarnacleGrim's Avatar
BarnacleGrim BarnacleGrim is offline  
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 90
I bought an old Polaroid SprintScan 4000. The quality is great, but it's pretty slow on an old SCSI Mac. I should look for extra memory and a G3 accelerator board. A high speed ATA board and a new hard drive would speed things up too.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 5th December 2010, 12:29
R58484956's Avatar
Super Moderator
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Engineering
Active: 1952 - 1965
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 13,746
A scanner made by "ION" is available in the UK called Ion slide2PC USB film and slide scanner. Cost approx £60.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 23rd March 2011, 23:30
Duncan112's Avatar
Duncan112 Duncan112 is offline  
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Engineering
Active: 1981 - 2003
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
My location
Posts: 2,155
Thought the contrast on my slide scanning had dropped off a bit so had a trawl on the web and found this..

http://www.pearsonimaging.com/articl...0cleaning.html

To avoid dismantling the mirror assembly however I used a DSLR sensor cleaning swab which fits neatly through the hole onto the mirror once the case is removed.

Results are excellent.
__________________
“Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.”

George Santayana (1863 - 1952)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re posting 35mm slides to digital Norm Cameras, Photography and Equipment 12 17th September 2009 13:31
Old Slides steamer659 Cameras, Photography and Equipment 4 1st June 2009 16:54
Scanning old Negatives (not 35mm) benjidog Cameras, Photography and Equipment 31 29th February 2008 23:05
Home made scanner for 35mm slides chrisp9au Cameras, Photography and Equipment 8 9th September 2006 02:04
Picture Slides John Rogers Cameras, Photography and Equipment 0 2nd August 2005 01:22



Search the net with ask.com
Support SN
Ask.com and get


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.