Inquiry? - Ships Nostalgia
08:24

Welcome
Welcome!Welcome to Ships Nostalgia, the world's greatest online community for people worldwide with an interest in ships and shipping. Whether you are crew, ex-crew, ship enthusiasts or cruisers, this is the forum for you. And what's more, it's completely FREE.

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.
User Name Password

Inquiry?

Old 7th December 2005, 21:59

Question Inquiry?

This is myfirst posting, so forgive me if I dont do things right.
I was a junior engineer on my first trip on MS Grainton, a Chapman & Willan tramp reg. Newcastle.when we ran on to a reef in the South China sea, we were a day out of Singapore on route to Japan, it was a clear calm night and the 3d mate was on watch with a young AB, they saw a white line of surf ahead and instead of taking immediate action, decided to call the old man to the bridge by which time it was too late and we struck pretty hard.
We were stuck fast for a day and a half,during which time we discovered a huge hole in the forepeak extending into no1 hold. The bilge pumps soon clogged up,{ we were carrying bagged cattle feed from the river Platte}so we,the engineers had to remove the emergancy bilge pump from the steering compartment and manhandle it upon deck, where we got it forward and all hands set to removing enough cargo to get a suction hose down to the bilges. Meantime the deck crew made a collision mat from hatch covers and cargo nets.
When we finaly got her off we managed to keep afloat, just, and the Skipper by the way refused to send out a mayday or to inform anyone, we limped in to Manilla bayand got emergency repairs made by local divers.We eventually got to Japan and spent six weeks in the shipyard in Yokahama having a new bow section fitted.