S.S. Camito - Ships Nostalgia
14:41

Welcome
Welcome!Welcome to Ships Nostalgia, the world's greatest online community for people worldwide with an interest in ships and shipping. Whether you are crew, ex-crew, ship enthusiasts or cruisers, this is the forum for you. And what's more, it's completely FREE.

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.
User Name Password

S.S. Camito

Old 29th August 2011, 13:42
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Engineering
Active: 1964 - 1966

S.S. Camito

I wonder if anyone has any memories that they can share of the S.S.Camito in the early 1960's I did three voyages to Jamaica on board as a junior engineer, my last trip was in May 1964 and the master was I think a Capt. Alan Thomson.
I also served briefly on the Changuinola and Chicanoa making trips to Jamaica and the Cameroons.
I was a junior engineer at the time and remember fellow juniors Leachy, Graham and Clabby among others.
Old 29th August 2011, 23:51

My location
hi aybar, what years was u on the skin boats
cheers
terry
Old 30th August 2011, 02:05
Active: 1947 - 1954

My location
Quote:
Originally Posted by aybar View Post
I wonder if anyone has any memories that they can share of the S.S.Camito in the early 1960's I did three voyages to Jamaica on board as a junior engineer, my last trip was in May 1964 and the master was I think a Capt. Alan Thomson.
I also served briefly on the Changuinola and Chicanoa making trips to Jamaica and the Cameroons.
I was a junior engineer at the time and remember fellow juniors Leachy, Graham and Clabby among others.
Check out the E/F thread,you may find some old shipmate there.

John
Old 30th August 2011, 21:01

thanks john

I have begun to read through the information on the site and have enjoyed it very much so far. I was only in the Merchant Navy for 12 months myself but still remember it fondly and feel very much at home with the chat as my dad was at sea for nearlly 50 years.