Ships Nostalgia banner

Glenfinlas

8K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  BillH 
#1 ·
One of the 4 PRIAM class general cargo ships built 1966/67 for Glen Line.She came from the Clydebank yard of John Brown & Co.in 1966.The others were Japanese built-GLENALMOND,PEMBROKESHIRE and RADNORSHIRE.
This was taken in London not long after she entered service.

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
I have just been editing my "memoirs" and came to the point where I was a Commissioning Engineer with EELM on Marine data Loggers. I decided to put "Glenfinlas" into "Google" and came up with this site.

I came to the entry by "Fairfield" and feel I must correct some of the early history of these ships, as I commissioned, with others, the Datalogger from the time the ship was being built at John Brown's near Glasgow. This was also the time that the QE II was being built there on the slipway. The Glenfinlas was indeed one of the 4 Glen & Shire line ships and 4 Blue Funnel line ships being built at the same time - a total of 8 ships. Of these, 4 "Blue Flues" were built in Japan plus one of the Glen & Shire line ships. Another "Priam" was built on north Tyneside, can't remember the name of the ship or the yard now, may have been Vickers, and I started off commissioning her Data logger, but was moved onto the Glenfinlas. I subsequently sailed with the Glenfinlas, along with a colleague Len Elsey, and a large number of dockyard mateys who were finishing building the ship and, for us, installing and cabling up the Data Logger!!! We sailed first to Hamburg, then Middlesborough, London and then to Antwerp from whence she went deep sea and we all went home. She was used on the Far east run to Japan.

Those were the days!

#3 · (Edited)
Malcolm Powell said:
I have just been editing my "memoirs" and came to the point where I was a Commissioning Engineer with EELM on Marine data Loggers. I decided to put "Glenfinlas" into "Google" and came up with this site.