Hi all

Popeye1975
1st February 2017, 20:40
Ex-RN Bunting (Signalman) served from 1975-1980, but I am also a part-time freelance writer currently engaged in writing the wartime story of my father, Signalman Lewis Hale JX/165696. I will probably be visiting this site on more than a few occasions as the RN Service record I applied for and received gave absolutely no mention of any of his ships. This a problem familiar to many people who have looked for the history of RN Personnel in WW2.

Looking forward to sharing information on here

Pompeyfan
1st February 2017, 20:56
Popeye1975

On behalf of the 'SN Moderating Team', welcome aboard.

Popeye1975
1st February 2017, 22:46
Popeye1975

On behalf of the 'SN Moderating Team', welcome aboard.

Cheers me dears. Glad to be here

R58484956
2nd February 2017, 09:33
Greetings Popeye and welcome to SN. Bon voyage.

billyboy
2nd February 2017, 09:58
A warm welcome aboard from the Philippines. Please enjoy all all this great site has to offer

Hugh MacLean
2nd February 2017, 18:32
Hi and welcome,

As you are probably aware RN service records tend to give accounting bases instead of sea-going drafts - this can be frustrating for researchers especially for proving medal entitlement.

Always worth checking Pay and Victualing Ledgers and if necessary make a Freedom of Information request if the MOD are being difficult about it.

Regards
Hugh ex sparks 1976-88

Popeye1975
2nd February 2017, 22:15
Hi and welcome,

As you are probably aware RN service records tend to give accounting bases instead of sea-going drafts - this can be frustrating for researchers especially for proving medal entitlement.

Always worth checking Pay and Victualing Ledgers and if necessary make a Freedom of Information request if the MOD are being difficult about it.

Regards
Hugh ex sparks 1976-88