hello all!

YvonneDoc
3rd August 2008, 01:21
Hi there!My grampa worked at the Yorkhill Quay docs,his name was John Docherty (wee doc)I've heard many stories both from him and my Dad about his time at Yorkhill and thought I'd do a bit of digging to help keep the stories alive!Any help would be much appreciated.His badge number was 3026.It's nice to see so many stories being kept going...and more tales of the shennanigans hehe!

billyboy
3rd August 2008, 01:56
Welcome aboard from the Philippines Yvonne. Enjoy all this great site has to offer.

Bruce Carson
3rd August 2008, 02:31
From Michigan, a warm welcome to Ships Nostalgia, Yvonne.
Good to have you onboard.
It would be nice if some of our members would have a tale or two to tell.

Bruce

PKiddell
3rd August 2008, 06:53
hi yvonne, i was an engineer on the Anchor Line ships in 1954/55 which used to load whisky for the USA at yorkhill, and it was always amazing how some of the dockersmanaged to climb out of the hold afer their shift. The worst case we saw was the polis coming up the gangway to take this particular docker away,so he decided to jump over the side ,luckily for him it was the wharf side and as we were ready to sail and it was low water he only had a jump of about 2 feet and fell in a heap, and was duly carried away by the Polis. (my wife is from Glasgow thats how I know how to spell Polis).
all the best. Peter Kiddell.

bert thompson
3rd August 2008, 08:36
Yvonne
Welcome to this wonderful site

Enjoy all it has to offer

Best wishes

Bert.

JimC
3rd August 2008, 12:41
Hello Yvonne!

It's the ex Anchor Line Boys you need to speak to - particularly the ones on the new York run. I have great memories myself of those days.
Funny enough, the best one was whisky nicked from an India bound ship.