Ss niceto de larrinaga 1941

Smithy92
17th October 2017, 17:00
Hello, Im new to this but wondered if anyone out there can help me solve a mystery? I have a relative who died on the ss niceto de larrinaga on the 22/09/1941.
I would like to know the time line of this ship before being hit & sinking. My main aim being that I want to know when he was last in the UK.
Any help would be appreciated.(Thumb)

Cutsplice
17th October 2017, 17:49
Niceto de Larringa was torpedoed by U-103 South West of the Canary Islands whilst in convoy SL-87. Out of a total crew of 51, 48 survived however one crew member and one gunner died later from injuries. She was on passage from Lagos - Freetown bound for London with general cargo. I have not researched when she was last in a UK port, hope the above information helps.

Hugh MacLean
17th October 2017, 19:11
Hello and welcome,

There are a number of ways to obtain this information.
The last crew agreement for the ship should tell you when he signed on for the voyage and at which port. The ship's movement card will also give a timeline of when she arrived and departed various ports. So in answer to your question possibly Oban or Liverpool.

She departed Oban, Jun 11, 1941 on convoy OB.333 (Liverpool - Dispersed)
Proceeded Independent, arrived Bathurst, Jul 4, 1941. Departed Bathurst, Jul 12, 1941, Independent, arrived Takoradi, Jul 17, 1941 . Departed Takoradi, Jul 19, 1941, Independent, arrived Accra, Jul 20, 1941. Departed Accra, Jul 25, 1941, Independent, arrived Lagos, Jul 27, 1941. Departed Lagos, Aug 4, 1941, Independent, arrived Lagos, Aug 13, 1941. Departed Lagos, Aug 30, 1941, Independent, arrived Accra, Aug 31, 1941. Departed Accra, Sep 1, 1941 Independent arrived, Takoradi, Sep 2, 1941. Departed Takoradi, Sep 7, 1941, Independent, arrived Freetown, Sep 12, 1941. Departed Freetown, Sep 14, 1941, SL.87 (Freetown - Liverpool) lost on Sep 22, 1941.

If you need any further help just ask.

Regards
Hugh

IAN M
17th October 2017, 19:17