Greetings, I just posted a ship video on YouTube

tuutuutango
9th October 2008, 07:40
Gentleman:

Greetings from Texas, where I grew up in a region having little water, few ponds and certainly no vast oceans (El Paso.) I just joined ShipNostalgia.Com yesterday to announce on the forum in the "White Elephant" section that I placed a video on YouTube in regard to the LNG tanker, El Paso Paul Kayser. I stumbled onto information about her sister ship (here on ShipsNostalgia) the El Paso Sonatrach and was delighted to see several posts in regard to the LNG tankers that El Paso built back in the 1970s.

I must admit, I have very little background in your industry and trade, except to say I love ships, even though having little experience on or with them. I can say that I saw the EL Paso Paul Kayser for the first time (as I made my little film) and I was smitten with this marvelous vessel as she made her first delivery at Elba Island, Georgia on 9-25-1978.

I saw her a second time when I was in Navy Officer's Candidate School in Newport, Rhode Island. She was berthed less than half a mile away from my barracks after she ran aground off the coast of Spain. She was awaiting her fate at Newport and it is my understanding she was eventually sold for scrap. If memory serves me correct, she cost $120 million to build when ordered in the mid-1970s and she was built in France. I can not even begin to understand what an LNG ship would cost today, and I imagine in the current economic climate, how could someone get financing to build a massive ship now? When EL Paso undertook this LNG venture, the company spent in excess of $1 billion to build 5 LNG ships. A few groundings and a change in the government in Algeria (a hostile Marxist regime) made the business climate intolerable and totally unpractical and the LNG exports were canceled. All the ships were either scrapped or re-fitted for other missions.