Hello from Port Guichon

Port Guichon
13th October 2008, 09:57
I am a student in the Metro Vancouver area with a fond and ingrained interest in nautical history and ships in general. From about my second year of life I was strapped down to the cockpit of my family's C&C Landfall 38' sailboat and cruised the the coastal waters of the Gulf (Canadian) and San Juan (US) Islands between the Vancouver Area and Vancouver Island, British Columbia until I was 10. Since then I've gained an affinity for the water and went on to persue such activities as the Sea Scouts and most recently as a moderator for the West Coast Ferries Forum ( http://ferriesbc.proboards20.com ), until I ran out of enough time to devote to the job. I keep upto date with many members of that forum, many of who are equally enthusiastic about nautical heritage.

I have taken my user name here from a nearby forgotten place of nautical historically important significance that happens to line up well with one focus of my interest in local nautical heritage, ferries. I live in the community of Ladner in the Municipality of Delta, British Columbia, south of Vancouver, and just a couple Km away was Port Guichon ( http://www.vanc.igs.net/~roughley/port_guichon.html ), once a terminus for rail ferries to Vancouver Island.

One of my key ambitions from my interest in nautical heritage is historical documentation in order to preserve past no matter what the fate of the ship is. Some of the fruits of this pursuit can be found on my flickr page ( http://www.flickr.com/photos/bctransit ), though it's still under contstruction and always will be if only for my continual addition of new images. Currently I've been adding a few of my favorite images from the past that my old camera has afforded me as I am now the proud owner of a Nikon D90.

I look forward to contributing to and learning from this forum.

Graham

Steve Woodward
13th October 2008, 10:01
Graham,