Hello - I'm a new member!

Margaret1956
24th October 2008, 02:08
Hi everyone. I was just informed of this site, so decided to log in. I am the daughter of Ralph L Way, a lifelong mariner. My Dad spent the majority of his life at sea on large steam ships. I have been researching his life for about three years. I have most of his sea travels documented, but I do have some holes. I also have all of his old black and white photos. He loved to take pictures, but was very bad at writting anything on them. So, I have been trying to discover the names of the various ships he took pictures of and where in the world he was. I also have alot of pictures of his mates. Although I remember some of his friends names, I do not remember what they looked like. My Dad passed away in 1969. So, I am looking for any one who might remember him or his mates. I am happy to download onto this site some of the photos of his mates, if I can figure out how to do that here. A retired seaman who found me on www.shipspotting.com referred me to this site.

Thanks in advance to anyone who replies.

Margaret1956
24th October 2008, 02:16
My Dad joined the Masters Mates and Pilots Union in aprox 1936. Some of the ships he served on were Dakotan, Californian, West Camargo, Tongass, Olympic Pioneer, Elko Victory, Wake Forest Victory, Canada Mail, Island Mail, China Mail, Berkeley Victory and locally, Coastal Rambler, Galena and Nadina. If any of these sound familiar to anyone, please contact me. Thanks!

billyboy
24th October 2008, 04:12
Welcome aboard from the Philippines. Enjoy all this great site has to offer. You have come to the right place for information as there is a wealth of knowledge on this site. you may even run into some of his shipmates on here.

surfaceblow
24th October 2008, 05:09