Introducing 'Zebedee'

zebedee
28th February 2011, 21:59
As a new or at least a recent member, I have been asked to introduce myself:
As I was never involved in any fires, collisions, groundings or serious machinery derangements I suppose I can say that my career was quite mundane.
In 1955, after serving an apprenticeship to ship repairing and general engineering, I started my career as a marine engineer. On Friday afternoon I was an apprentice without any real responsibilities but on the following Tuesday I was the duty engineer on a ship in London! Not as crazy as it sounds, after all I was not the only engineer on board. We sailed in ballast to Middlesbrough where we took on board railway lines then we moved to Imminham and loaded newsprint after which we returned to London to take on general cargo which included motorcars in all sorts of forms. Some needed wheels some needed tyres and some were what was known as CK D: this stood for completely knocked down and meant that they were exported in parts, in boxes of course. Our next stop was Marseilles on the coast of France where we stayed overnight and loaded animal hides. The following morning after breakfast the chief engineer said to me “what happened last night Mister Zebedee?” Everything was very formal in those days! To my response of "Nothing Sir,” he said: ‘Come and look over the starboard side!’ This revealed that something had indeed gone wrong! We were at the centre of a large semicircle of oil floating on the previously immaculate seawater: thus I was introduced to the concept of culpable negligence even in the absence of oneself. On passage through the Mediterranean, as light relief from repairing the windlass I was able to observe dolphins swimming in our bow wave. Remember this was 1955 before television and certainly before the marvel of colour television and David Attenborough bringing such items into our living rooms on a daily basis. The bow wave was about 2 foot wide where the cut-water met the