Curry-munching

Chris Field
25th April 2012, 10:28
I remember being given a spoon AND a fork when eating curry meals in City boats in the 1950's. (I was an apprentice from Brixton so had relatively few high-society graces). Am I now the only person in the world who still uses both these tools when dining on curry meals?

Pat Thompson
25th April 2012, 11:11
Greetings,

Nope!

woodend
25th April 2012, 11:14
I think you will find that amongst us (sn members) 'spoon and fork' users for curry would be in the majority.

Satanic Mechanic
25th April 2012, 11:15
only way to eat 'em

well that and a nan bread 'scoop'

JamesM
25th April 2012, 11:23
"only way to eat 'em

well that and a nan bread 'scoop'"

Spot'on SM.

But it never ceases to amuse me, when I am out with friends, when there they are ... troughing away .... with a knife and fork. Never done that in my life. Landlubbers!!

Chris Isaac
25th April 2012, 13:36
Me too but my wife is appalled.
But who cares?

It was expected in Clan Line but frowned upon in Union Castle.

Pat McCardle
25th April 2012, 14:30
Fork & Spoon man myself...All self taught too!

Barrie Youde
25th April 2012, 17:43
Would anybody care to advise on the ethics of the poppadam, without which no curry is complete? And which of two known methods is the proper way to eat the poppadam?

Should a piece be snapped off and then eaten delicately like a biscuit, perhaps with some chutney or other balancing on the edge?

Or should it be ground together between the palms of the hands (almost as a religious ritual) and then scattered as cremated ash on the top of the curry?

As a confirmed grind-and-sprinkle man (if I think that I can get away with it), I know which is my preferred method. Yet I admit to conforming to the apparently more acceptable method, depending on how confident I might feel.

Generally my wife, too, is appalled!

Mick Spear
25th April 2012, 17:58