Unknown Ship

David249
17th December 2012, 10:54
Hi! I am new to this so I hope I do it all correctly. My father was posted to the Pacific theatre of war in 1945. He was stationed on the island of Morotai in the Halmaheras. Among his photographs, there is a small picture of a ship anchored, I believe, off Morotai. Of course, it is unidentified. From its design, I would suspect that it was built in the mid to late 1930s as a cruise ship. I am attaching a copy of the picture and I hope somebody might be able to identify it for me. The photo was probably taken between April and July 1945.
The attachment will be small so if anyone would like a larger image, I could e-mail it directly.
Thanks.

Gulpers
17th December 2012, 13:26
David,

On behalf of the SN Moderators, a warm welcome aboard.
I have no doubt that our members will be able to identify your mystery vessel - in the meantime however, have a good look around and enjoy your time with us on SN. (Thumb)

A.D.FROST
17th December 2012, 13:40
Hi! I am new to this so I hope I do it all correctly. My father was posted to the Pacific theatre of war in 1945. He was stationed on the island of Morotai in the Halmaheras. Among his photographs, there is a small picture of a ship anchored, I believe, off Morotai. Of course, it is unidentified. From its design, I would suspect that it was built in the mid to late 1930s as a cruise ship. I am attaching a copy of the picture and I hope somebody might be able to identify it for me. The photo was probably taken between April and July 1945.
The attachment will be small so if anyone would like a larger image, I could e-mail it directly.
Thanks.

Union-Castle boat.Possibly LLANGIBBY CASTLE
http://www.photoship.co.uk/JAlbum%20Ships/Old%20Ships%20L/slides/Llangibby%20Castle-03.html

fred henderson
17th December 2012, 13:47