Hello, from ex Riversdale Tech, R.F.A.Engineer Cadet

johnboy55
19th January 2013, 16:07
Hi ,
Just joined the site , found some interesting threads already . .
I was an Engineer Cadet with the R.F.A. Went to Riversdale Tech. in Liverpool '71-73 then back for phase 3 in September 74-July 75 .

Like others I spent the first year as a 16yr old in Kinsman House, second year at home as my family lived around the corner ! Phase 3 shared a house off Smithdown Road, near the Brook House pub . Some people have talked about the Kingsman pub and the Aigburth Arms (down near Aigburth Vale). . .we used these but also had a lengthy period of time frequenting 'The Dealers Arms' in Garston, which was a bit rough but very welcoming !

Lots of great memories, from the college days including the football team , frequent trips to Lawson Park in the Lakes for climbing, walking and local hostelries . Saturday night in the 'Salutation' in Ambleside if we could get one of the tutors to take out the minibus , otherwise a long walk through the forest down into Coniston.

Yes, sad that the college is now a housing estate, 2003 I think it went. My father taught on the Marine Engineering side, from about '63 to 83 when he retired . ( Bernie Rodgers ) It was he who persuaded me to switch from the Deck Cadet side to Engineering a month before the college terms started . It wasn't a great move for me ( with hindsight etc , I stuggled with claustrophobia and the E.R environment not good for me !)

Trips away as a Cadet were on the MV 'Retainer' (ex China Nav S/S Co. 'Chungking' and then a long and memorable trip on MV'Derwentdale' ( on charter from Court Line ex 'Halcyon Breeze ')That was the trip when there was a boiler fire when alongside in Singapore which resulted in a very long stopover and refit, though the cadets were flown home after 6 weeks for the re-start of college (phase 3)

Post Phase 3 i completed some short trips on Tideflow, Regent, Sir Geraint and finally Green Rover .