Can you identify this ship being built?

Tim Dunn
18th September 2013, 14:02
Hi everyone,

This is my first time on this site so I hope I am not out of line by posting this here. Above my desk is a drawing of a ship being constructed. I am not a mariner by trade so I don't have much idea what I'm looking at except that I very much enjoy this drawing. I purchased it in a second hand shop in Athens Ohio in about 1975. Can anyone tell me about this ship? Is it a passenger ship? Freight? What vintage? I suspect learning the name will be a tall order but I'll bet there on some on this site that can at least identify the approximate year. I will be grateful for any information.

Tim Dunn

Boatman25
18th September 2013, 14:45
Would help if the photograph was round the right way

makko
18th September 2013, 14:51
A very nice picture it is too!
There appear to be some anomalies with the hull details. Looks like a twin screw and I would hazard a guess that it is being built in a dry dock. Beyond that, I don't have any other thoughts. Maybe a Laker?
Rgds.
Dave

John Rogers
18th September 2013, 14:54
A lot of port-holes to be a laker Dave.

cueball44
18th September 2013, 15:07
Could be a tall ship, something like "SORLANDET".

Tmac1720
18th September 2013, 15:22
With that stern profile she looks German, possibly BREMEN, but lots of artistic license used in the drawing.

Tim Dunn
18th September 2013, 16:07
Would help if the photograph was round the right way

Hi Boatman,

When I click on the photo it is right side up.

Everyone else, are you viewing it right side up or sideways?

To everyone else with comments, Thanks! I know quite a bit more already than I did before.

Tim

Tim Dunn
18th September 2013, 16:28