I'm looking for work on a dredger can you help?

i7builder
13th January 2014, 00:32
Hiya guys some years ago i was a member on here but ive since lost all the login details "As you do" anyways thought id say hello to you all, hope you had a lovely xmas?

Anyways i am a 360 track machine operator i have the Red & Blue cards for below & above 10 tons meaning i can operate any size 360 track machine, ive operated some decent size machines and ive got a decent amount of experience but i have an issue i dont want to work on a building site i find it boring just digging trenches i have warmed upto Dredgers, now my uncle has been at sea all his life & ive asked him for some advice and he is looking into it but i wondered if anyone on here could offer me any please? the job i am looking to do is operating the 360 machine on the dredgers and i'd work anywhere in the world! i am 40 years old ive had my own computing business building them for clients but he bottom has fallen out the market so i concentrated on diggers, do i need to be trained in anything else to work on a dredger if so what is this please? I would REALLY appreciate any advice guys..

cheers

i7builder
13th January 2014, 08:53
Come on guys 30+ people read this post no replies?? :-)

Frank P
13th January 2014, 10:11
The dredger that I see around Heysham is the W D Mersey and she looks like a suction dredger, there is dredger at Glasson Dock that uses a Grab.

Cheers Frank

Anchorman
13th January 2014, 10:19
Hi i7builder. Get in touch with Humber workboats at killingholme near Grimsby.I am sure they may help and point you in right direction.

i7builder
13th January 2014, 12:18
"Frank/Anchorman" Many thanks chaps! your help us much appreciated!! :-)

Pat Kennedy
13th January 2014, 12:38
Another company you could try is Land and Marine in Bromborough. A few of my ex shipmates went to work for them and said it is a good outfit.
Here's their website;
http://www.landandmarine.com/About%20us/About%20us.html