News about "Hamen" ex collier "Pompey Power"

hamen
15th January 2014, 20:13
Hello!
My name is Arne Holm. I live in Oslo, Norway. I work as a piping designer, designing piping in power plants and process industry. But now, I want to tell you about the veteran cargo ship m/s "Hamen", bulit in 1949 in Sunderland at S.P. Austin as "Pompey Power".

As many of you will know, Hamen was laid up in Idefjorden close to Halden, but on the Swedish side of the border between 1995 and 2012. In December 2012, when the ice was about 8 inch thick, “Hamen” was towed via Halden to Hirtshals Yard at Jutland in Denmark. She was docked in february 2013. In Hirtshals, hull was checked, sandblasted and painted. Deckhouses, deck etc were washed with high pressure water and painted. The condition of the hull proved to be better than both the authorities and the owner could assume and hope. The owner is Stiftelsen Hamen ex ds Tandik (in english called the Hamen Foundation). Our intention is to preserve the ship as a museum ship and a maritime and technical heritage. On board “Hamen”, it is possible to show in a realistic environment how european and norwegian seamen lived and worked between 1949 and 1986, when the ship was laid up.
In august 2013, “Hamen” was towed to Hurum in the Oslo fiord, and is now laid up close to Hurum Paper Mill, laid down in 2008.