Windows 10 Word problem - Ships Nostalgia
18:57

Welcome
Welcome!Welcome to Ships Nostalgia, the world's greatest online community for people worldwide with an interest in ships and shipping. Whether you are crew, ex-crew, ship enthusiasts or cruisers, this is the forum for you. And what's more, it's completely FREE.

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.
Log in
User Name Password

Windows 10 Word problem

User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 8th October 2019, 15:49
double acting double acting is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 195
Windows 10 Word problem

I open up a blank "page" and as well as the bit you type on there is another blank bit running down the side.

After you have written up the document and go to print it this blank bit gets on the page as well.

How do you get rid of this nuisance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8th October 2019, 16:34
Mad Landsman's Avatar
Mad Landsman Mad Landsman is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,305
It sound like you have a second page 'running'

Open a blank document and with the cursor at the top of the first page (left side) press and hold the delete key.
If it is what I think the second, right hand, page should disappear.
__________________
Malcolm.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th October 2019, 02:03
YM-Mundrabilla's Avatar
YM-Mundrabilla YM-Mundrabilla is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,869
Double Acting,

Not sure that any of this will help but it might?
On the top Command Line there is a heading called 'View'. This will give three options:

One page
Two pages
Page width

I always use 'Page Width' as bigger and easier to read for my old eyes.

If the above does not help, go into 'Page Layout' (also on the top Command Line)where you will find a setting for the top, bottom, LH and RH page margins. Fiddling these might help. The default is, I think, 25.4 mm (one inch) all round.

Hope this helps.
Geoff (YM)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th October 2019, 03:01
longstreath longstreath is offline
Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Deck
Active: 1973 - 1978
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 8
A couple of things to look at:

Go to the menu for View and make sure that Ruler is On. This will allow you to see at the top of the page where the margins are set to. I have included an attachment to show the standard margin setup, named: Screen Shot 2019-10-11 at 07.46.15

Another thing to look at is whether you have more than one column set up. Go to the menu for Format and choose Columns. Make sure that the Presets are set to One. I have attached another screenshot showing this: Screen Shot 2019-10-11 at 07.54.07

It sounds to me that you might have the columns set up so you have two columns with one set off on the right, or left wherever you are getting the blank area. Either than or the margins are offset.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2019-10-11 at 07.46.15.jpg (8.0 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2019-10-11 at 07.54.07.jpg (18.4 KB, 2 views)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th October 2019, 03:50
Baulkham Hills Baulkham Hills is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 140
Get open office leave Microsoft behind
www.openoffice.org
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13th October 2019, 17:57
Farmer John's Avatar
Farmer John Farmer John is online now  
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Navigation
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,846
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baulkham Hills View Post
Get open office leave Microsoft behind
www.openoffice.org
I would agree with that, Word is a brutal bully if it gets crossed.
__________________
"The kitten and the snail got off the bus!"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15th October 2019, 12:35
Varley's Avatar
Varley Varley is offline   SN Supporter
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Active: 1971 - 2011
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,585
October? I wonder if this is not just co-incidental. I have just been successfully encourage to make latest update to Win 10 (1809 build 17763.805).

I use eM Client for EMAIL, MS having abandoned the entirely adequate Livemail. Immediately on restart I find eM Client is now trying to send (SMTP) via the IMAP server (as my EMail service, Enterprise.net moved off the Island I cannot use it for my internet connection so it refuses to accept mail which because of that appeared relayed from another domain). Don't see that as coincident.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15th October 2019, 17:20
double acting double acting is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 195
Nearly solved

Sorry to say none of the suggestions sent worked, but I have solved it myself, well in a way.

Open document up & go to Review, then Simple Mark Up, then No Markup, hey presto the offending "Administrator" space vanishes.

It can then be viewed, worked on or printed as normal. Snag is, if saved back comes the original problem, I even tried to cut and paste leaving out the Administrator bit into a blank word document & up the problem comes.

Giving it a new name and saving it without the Administrator bit still makes no difference. I give up.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off




Support SN


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.