Windows Media Playerv 9 not burning CDs - Ships Nostalgia
01:28

Welcome
Welcome!Welcome to Ships Nostalgia, the world's greatest online community for people worldwide with an interest in ships and shipping. Whether you are crew, ex-crew, ship enthusiasts or cruisers, this is the forum for you. And what's more, it's completely FREE.

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.
Log in
User Name Password

Windows Media Playerv 9 not burning CDs

User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 15th June 2007, 09:54
ddraigmor ddraigmor is offline
member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Deck
Active: 1974 - 1994
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
My location
Posts: 5,805
Windows Media Playerv 9 not burning CDs

Help!

My CD player appears not to want to burn to my D drive. The properties box (devices) on the player list all the removable drives but not the CD / R / RW. The 'recording' tab in devices manager for it is ebnabled and the device manager shows no problems - but how do I get the D drive into the devices tab on media player?

I am running Windows XP with SP 2, have roled back IE to IE6 as I had read IE 7 and above cause problems. I also cannot find either Roxio or Sonic bits in search.

It plays everything OK - but it will not burn! I know it is because the device manager is not picking up the D drive so how can I get it to do that?

Help!

Jonty
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15th June 2007, 09:58
kottemann kottemann is offline  
member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
My location
Posts: 1,279
Hi Jonty have you added any new drives to your pc lately?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th June 2007, 10:33
treeve's Avatar
treeve treeve is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
My location
Posts: 5,689
I have the same problem on a brand new laptop ... I use other software to do the burning - I keep getting reports about some service or other not being available. These MS services are a nightmare to get going, so many depend on each other, and there is no intelligent user friendly information or advice available to help anyone through the maze.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th June 2007, 10:40
kottemann kottemann is offline  
member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
My location
Posts: 1,279
I have consulted a few of my buddies here in the IT department they reccomend that you remove WMP reinstall a version no later than 9 and update the codecs the codecs pack is available here www.filehippo.com the roll back will not sort the problem you need to start again from scratch with version 9. Hope this helps if not i will personally fire my department.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th June 2007, 11:37
Peter4447 Peter4447 is offline  
user
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
My location
Posts: 38
I came unstuck with this and eventually found the problem was the CD itself. I did not realise that you can buy DVD RW + and DVD RW -. Purchased the appropriate ones and problem solved!
Peter4447
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th June 2007, 12:15
kottemann kottemann is offline  
member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
My location
Posts: 1,279
Jonty have been thinking about this and being a hardware specialist i can offer very little help on windows applications because I work on unix and linux based servers. But I would like you to try this to get your D drive back in the device manager list.

1 Right click on my computer and select manage
2 Go to Disk Management and enable the drive letter you are having a problem with ie: D C etc and then reboot obviously do not select the format option.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15th June 2007, 18:53
ddraigmor ddraigmor is offline
member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Deck
Active: 1974 - 1994
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
My location
Posts: 5,805
Thanks all chaps,

Tried everything possible but in the end backed up, saved - and completely re-installed. It's now working again though I have to re-set my bookmarks!

Windows - don't you just love it?

Jonty
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15th June 2007, 18:56
treeve's Avatar
treeve treeve is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
My location
Posts: 5,689
You could have saved off your bookmarks directory and re-loaded it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16th June 2007, 01:09
ddraigmor ddraigmor is offline
member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Deck
Active: 1974 - 1994
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
My location
Posts: 5,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by treeve View Post
You could have saved off your bookmarks directory and re-loaded it.
Treeve,

Ah........I was just so brassed off I didn't though I remember the important ones - like this site!

Jonty
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Media Player 11 Julian Computers and The Internet 6 14th June 2006 20:40



Support SN


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.