circuit diagram wanted - Ships Nostalgia
18:31

Welcome
Welcome!Welcome to Ships Nostalgia, the world's greatest online community for people worldwide with an interest in ships and shipping. Whether you are crew, ex-crew, ship enthusiasts or cruisers, this is the forum for you. And what's more, it's completely FREE.

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.
Log in
User Name Password

circuit diagram wanted

User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 13th January 2019, 22:20
James Duncan James Duncan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 11
circuit diagram wanted

I have a Sailor T122 TX and could do with the manual or circuit diagram
can anyone help
MM0HDW
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th January 2019, 23:07
duncs duncs is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 399
I would suggest that you google your request. A number of years ago I managed to get cct diags for a sailor rcvr using google. Best of luck.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th January 2019, 10:56
Duncan112's Avatar
Duncan112 Duncan112 is offline  
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Engineering
Active: 1981 - 2003
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
My location
Posts: 3,377
One here - if you can read Swedish!! http://www.peel.dk/SP/T122.html
__________________
“Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.”

George Santayana (1863 - 1952)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th January 2019, 11:59
R651400 R651400 is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5,692
Good find and another with Sailor and many other manuals is mods.dk ..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th January 2019, 12:03
Dave Woods's Avatar
Dave Woods Dave Woods is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 520
Is this what you want https://drive.google.com/file/d/1iwx...o_AP3R2k5/view
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14th January 2019, 14:36
James Duncan James Duncan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 11
Thank all for the info
I have a T122 that has never been installed in a vessel and also a shore 240 volt Ac power supply, all as new, wrapped in blankets these past 30-40 years.
Has anyone ever fitted an external VFO to give a bit of band cover rather than the fixed frequency Xtal's
would like to use on 80 meter band.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14th January 2019, 17:49
GW3OQK's Avatar
GW3OQK GW3OQK is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 108
Yes James, I've done it with an old valve ex RN transmitter, plugging the external VFO output into a crystal socket. No problem with your Sailor because of lower drive requirements.

I suppose you've considered how to convert to LSB for 80m band. Looks like you could put the VFO 600 KHz on the high side instead of the low.
73, Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14th January 2019, 17:53
R651400 R651400 is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5,692
Reading the English version of the manual from #3 link not as easy as it appears.
Before contemplating a dedicated vfo build I'd advise taking the 80m output generally available from the low level driver of most amateur rigs and go through the motions of seeing if vfo control is feasible bearing in mind once the case is off the T122 there's a lethal 1Kv on the anodes of the finals!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14th January 2019, 18:49
James Duncan James Duncan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GW3OQK View Post
Yes James, I've done it with an old valve ex RN transmitter, plugging the external VFO output into a crystal socket. No problem with your Sailor because of lower drive requirements.

I suppose you've considered how to convert to LSB for 80m band. Looks like you could put the VFO 600 KHz on the high side instead of the low.
73, Andrew
Thanks Andrew
I have not done anything so far and looking at the circuit the rig uses SSB and I assume it will be LSB on these frequencies ??.
would like to use it as an AM TX for the 80 Meter band.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14th January 2019, 18:57
James Duncan James Duncan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by R651400 View Post
Reading the English version of the manual from #3 link not as easy as it appears.
Before contemplating a dedicated vfo build I'd advise taking the 80m output generally available from the low level driver of most amateur rigs and go through the motions of seeing if vfo control is feasible bearing in mind once the case is off the T122 there's a lethal 1Kv on the anodes of the finals!
Yes quite high volts there, I have linear's with more but these have HT disable switch when one removes the cover so one has to take a deliberate action before working on the circuits with live HT,
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 14th January 2019, 19:05
James Duncan James Duncan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 11
Thank you guys for the Manual which I have now downloaded.
would like to have AM mode on this TX. seems only SSB as it is??
Need to add a VFO to cover the 80 meter band.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 15th January 2019, 14:44
GW3OQK's Avatar
GW3OQK GW3OQK is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 108
James, I've looked at the manual, and what I suggested before would give you LSB. For AM switch to A3H, that is AM-compatible single sideband with carrier. To use on 3615 kHz get a 4215 crystal or 3015.

4215 is advertised here http://www.af4k.com/FT243crystals4000-4499khz.htm
Best of luck
Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 15th January 2019, 17:58
James Duncan James Duncan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GW3OQK View Post
James, I've looked at the manual, and what I suggested before would give you LSB. For AM switch to A3H, that is AM-compatible single sideband with carrier. To use on 3615 kHz get a 4215 crystal or 3015.

4215 is advertised here http://www.af4k.com/FT243crystals4000-4499khz.htm
Best of luck
Andrew
Thanks Andrew, you are correct, the A3H SSB full carrier was changed and is now called H3E, just to confuse people?
Thanks for the info on the Xtal required.
All I need now is to clear some space and get rid of a load of radios, Ar88 X 3 and R107 X 2, so heavy may have to break as spares for people.

James
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 16th January 2019, 09:40
GW3OQK's Avatar
GW3OQK GW3OQK is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Duncan View Post
All I need now is to clear some space and get rid of a load of radios, Ar88 X 3 and R107 X 2, so heavy may have to break as spares for people.

James
Don't do that James! Put them on ebay or send to VMARS auction, some twerp will want them.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 16th January 2019, 12:43
James Duncan James Duncan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 11
These radios are just too heavy for me to handle and pack for delivery
I need the space that these are taking up to work on other projects
don't know what to do as I am in the far north of Scotland ( Wick)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 17th January 2019, 12:45
GW3OQK's Avatar
GW3OQK GW3OQK is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 108
James, I've mentioned your plight where it might do good, hang on a few days if you can. Down here in South Wales I donated and repaired some gear to the 1940's museum. One AR88 was heavy enough for me, very difficult without handles.
Andrew.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 17th January 2019, 14:17
James Duncan James Duncan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GW3OQK View Post
James, I've mentioned your plight where it might do good, hang on a few days if you can. Down here in South Wales I donated and repaired some gear to the 1940's museum. One AR88 was heavy enough for me, very difficult without handles.
Andrew.
Thank you Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 18th January 2019, 10:20
GW3OQK's Avatar
GW3OQK GW3OQK is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 108
James, There's been several responses from VMARS members. One replied as below.

I'll send you a private message,best exchange telephone numbers I think
Andrew

I think that I could collect them and get them down to Central Scotland I would not make the the February auction and members of Lomond Club may snaffle them before then.
Regards

Barrie
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2nd February 2019, 20:58
Searcher2004's Avatar
Searcher2004 Searcher2004 is offline  
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Radio Officer
Active: 1969 - 2013
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Duncan View Post
Thank all for the info
I have a T122 that has never been installed in a vessel and also a shore 240 volt Ac power supply, all as new, wrapped in blankets these past 30-40 years.
Has anyone ever fitted an external VFO to give a bit of band cover rather than the fixed frequency Xtal's
would like to use on 80 meter band.
Hi James,

Good find! I was speaking to someone recently who was looking for crystals for a T126, which I think is similar to your T122? If it uses crystals that are 600kHz higher than the wanted frequency I may be able to help with some crystals that will give you frequencies on 80m to get the set working.

Cheers

Roger/G3VKM
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 3rd February 2019, 08:54
bobharrison2002's Avatar
bobharrison2002 bobharrison2002 is offline  
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Radio Officer
Active: 1974 - 1981
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
My location
Posts: 242
Instead of using crystals you could use a DDS similar to this : https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/AD9850-6-...h-b:rk:30:pf:0
__________________
All-at-Sea
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 3rd February 2019, 10:42
Searcher2004's Avatar
Searcher2004 Searcher2004 is offline  
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Radio Officer
Active: 1969 - 2013
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 142
Yes, a VFO will obviously give more flexibility, the offer of crystals was to enable testing of the set before modifying it to take an external input.

I don't know if this has been mentioned before but does the transmitter in question generate LSB as well as USB? If it's only USB then use on 160 and 80 metres is going to be be difficult due to the old rule of thumb of "LSB below 10MHz" which amateurs have stuck to since the 50s.

Cheers

Roger/G3VKM
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 3rd February 2019, 18:17
GW3OQK's Avatar
GW3OQK GW3OQK is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 108
Roger, Yes it has been mentioned, you can use a crystal or VFO 600 KHz lower than tx freq to get LSB. The set also has an AM compatible mode A3H so it can be used on 3615.

James? Have you managed to move out the AR88s & R107s?
73, Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 5th February 2019, 11:17
Searcher2004's Avatar
Searcher2004 Searcher2004 is offline  
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Radio Officer
Active: 1969 - 2013
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by GW3OQK View Post
Roger, Yes it has been mentioned, you can use a crystal or VFO 600 KHz lower than tx freq to get LSB. The set also has an AM compatible mode A3H so it can be used on 3615.

James? Have you managed to move out the AR88s & R107s?
73, Andrew
OK Andrew,

I didn't scroll back far enough to see the previous comments on LSB. For AM on 3615 a 3105 kHz crystal will be needed and I think that was an old airband favourite channel, so there may be some around in people's junk boxes.

73

Roger/G3VKM
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 20th April 2019, 19:46
James Duncan James Duncan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 11
ww2 radios

Quote:
Originally Posted by GW3OQK View Post
Roger, Yes it has been mentioned, you can use a crystal or VFO 600 KHz lower than tx freq to get LSB. The set also has an AM compatible mode A3H so it can be used on 3615.

James? Have you managed to move out the AR88s & R107s?
73, Andrew
Hi Andrew
the transport costs and distances to collect made selling difficult
radios offered in exchange also tended to be heavy again adding to costs.
One AR88 was given to GM4JYB and he had it up and working in a couple of days, he had to replace two diodes( the ones in what looks like a small octal valve)
So lying all those decades had not spoiled the radio.Alignment is as near correct as it can be, some bathtub caps had been changed a long time ago to ordinary caps but voltages are all good.
I am rather pleased that my friend and fellow amateur has the set and using it alongside a Spey marine TX ( 80 Meters AM) .
I am also still looking for an Ex fishing boat/ marine valve radio and TX to use on the 80 meter AM vintage radio net but nothing so far, plenty transistor etc rigs but no valve ones.
I should fire up the other radios but do not have space, time and the strength to work with these.
all the best
MM0HDW
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuitous circuit. Mad Landsman The Radio Room 6 22nd March 2017 19:16
Modern Circuit Diagrams jaydeeare The Radio Room 67 26th June 2009 15:00
photo,s wanted baileysan Ship Research 13 3rd November 2008 12:32



Support SN


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.