Error Messages? - Ships Nostalgia
02:16

Welcome
Welcome!Welcome to Ships Nostalgia, the world's greatest online community for people worldwide with an interest in ships and shipping. Whether you are crew, ex-crew, ship enthusiasts or cruisers, this is the forum for you. And what's more, it's completely FREE.

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.
Log in
User Name Password

Error Messages?

User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 14th September 2016, 22:48
Dickyboy's Avatar
Dickyboy Dickyboy is offline
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Deck
Active: 1964 - 2009
 
Join Date: May 2009
My location
Posts: 8,724
Error Messages?

I keep getting these error messages when I'm online and on a website. Every time I click onto another page one of this type of error message pops up.
What's it all about and how can I fix it?
I tried Microsoft Edge earlier in the day, didn't like it and reverted to IE2.
After that I Restored to an earlier Restore Point, and have also done a Disk Cleanup and a defrag.
I click on "Yes" to get to the next page each time it crops up, but clicking on "No" doesn't stop the error messages appearing either.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Errors.jpg (185.2 KB, 64 views)
__________________
Good advice is usually ignored, but that's no reason for not giving it. Miss Marple.

Last edited by Dickyboy; 14th September 2016 at 23:04..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14th September 2016, 23:03
BobClay's Avatar
BobClay BobClay is offline
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Radio Officer
Active: 1965 - 1986
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
My location
Posts: 5,250
One tip is always to Google an error message, stating the browser in use.

Some tips for removal:

https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/kb/308260

But these are pretty standard. You might also disable script debugging.
__________________
"Irreverence is the champion of liberty and its only sure defense."
Mark Twain
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th September 2016, 23:25
Dickyboy's Avatar
Dickyboy Dickyboy is offline
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Deck
Active: 1964 - 2009
 
Join Date: May 2009
My location
Posts: 8,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobClay View Post
One tip is always to Google an error message, stating the browser in use.

Some tips for removal:

https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/kb/308260

But these are pretty standard. You might also disable script debugging.
I had a look on their site, and then checked the "Disable script debugging" box, did a restart, but that doesn't seem to have worked.
I'll see if Microsoft Edge works tomorrow.
I'm having an early night. I don't want to throw the computer out of the window,
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 007_1b (2).jpg (20.6 KB, 16 views)
__________________
Good advice is usually ignored, but that's no reason for not giving it. Miss Marple.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th September 2016, 23:44
Dickyboy's Avatar
Dickyboy Dickyboy is offline
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Deck
Active: 1964 - 2009
 
Join Date: May 2009
My location
Posts: 8,724
Just tried Edge. Seems to be working okay with that. So I'll stick with that for the time being.
__________________
Good advice is usually ignored, but that's no reason for not giving it. Miss Marple.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th September 2016, 00:04
tsell tsell is offline
member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
My location
Posts: 4,373
I had similar messages some months ago, but they disappeared after a few days just before I tore out my last remaining tonsorial roots. However, I am now plagued by another curse, a similar sized intrusion, urging me to sign on to 'Internet Explorer 11'. It only appears on every second or third day, often three or four times and is on different sites, none dodgy. It is easily deleted, but bloody annoying.

Taff
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th September 2016, 06:56
Dickyboy's Avatar
Dickyboy Dickyboy is offline
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Deck
Active: 1964 - 2009
 
Join Date: May 2009
My location
Posts: 8,724
I reckon when I first downloaded Edge it might have planted some sort of bug in my system, so that it made it difficult to revert to IE 11 again. But perhaps I'm being paranoid.
There only seemed to be two sites that it affected, SN & TV Guide.
__________________
Good advice is usually ignored, but that's no reason for not giving it. Miss Marple.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15th September 2016, 09:24
tsell tsell is offline
member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
My location
Posts: 4,373
Dick, what is Edge, I have no idea? Is it anything to do with W10 as that's when my troubles started and still continue!

Taff
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15th September 2016, 09:38
Dickyboy's Avatar
Dickyboy Dickyboy is offline
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Deck
Active: 1964 - 2009
 
Join Date: May 2009
My location
Posts: 8,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsell View Post
Dick, what is Edge, I have no idea? Is it anything to do with W10 as that's when my troubles started and still continue!

Taff
Sorry, it's called "Microsoft Edge" A newish browser for Windows 10. I suspect that Microsoft would like everyone to swap from IE11 to Microsoft Edge. It works okay on my computer, but looks a bit different, and I don't like change. The hassle of error messages no longer exists with Microsoft Edge anyway. If you have Windows 10, you might have Microsoft Edge listed in your Default programs, which can be found in the Control Panel. I just clicked on that, and swapped.
__________________
Good advice is usually ignored, but that's no reason for not giving it. Miss Marple.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15th September 2016, 10:25
wharferat wharferat is offline  
Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Engineering
Active: 1977 - Present
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 99
If you're using MS Edge as your browser, you can open the web page you're viewing in Internet Explorer as well by left clicking the 3 dots at the right-hand side (just below the X to close) & there is an option to open the page in IE.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15th September 2016, 10:49
Dickyboy's Avatar
Dickyboy Dickyboy is offline
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Deck
Active: 1964 - 2009
 
Join Date: May 2009
My location
Posts: 8,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by wharferat View Post
If you're using MS Edge as your browser, you can open the web page you're viewing in Internet Explorer as well by left clicking the 3 dots at the right-hand side (just below the X to close) & there is an option to open the page in IE.
Yes, I saw that, but the Error Message is still there on IE11 for me. To be honest I can't see any advantage in swapping between the two anyway. Though no doubt there are advantages that I can't see.
__________________
Good advice is usually ignored, but that's no reason for not giving it. Miss Marple.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 15th September 2016, 11:35
BobClay's Avatar
BobClay BobClay is offline
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Radio Officer
Active: 1965 - 1986
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
My location
Posts: 5,250
Go back into advanced settings and make it look like this in the browser section.
That is tick both disable script debugging boxes, and untick the display notifications about script errors box.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg browsersettings.jpg (90.3 KB, 18 views)
__________________
"Irreverence is the champion of liberty and its only sure defense."
Mark Twain
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 15th September 2016, 11:58
tsell tsell is offline
member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
My location
Posts: 4,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dickyboy View Post
Sorry, it's called "Microsoft Edge" A newish browser for Windows 10. I suspect that Microsoft would like everyone to swap from IE11 to Microsoft Edge. It works okay on my computer, but looks a bit different, and I don't like change. The hassle of error messages no longer exists with Microsoft Edge anyway. If you have Windows 10, you might have Microsoft Edge listed in your Default programs, which can be found in the Control Panel. I just clicked on that, and swapped.
Thanks! I don't have W10 anymore - only had it for a couple of weeks, then went back to W8.1. That's when things got really bad. They didn't like that!

Taff
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 15th September 2016, 13:20
Dickyboy's Avatar
Dickyboy Dickyboy is offline
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Deck
Active: 1964 - 2009
 
Join Date: May 2009
My location
Posts: 8,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobClay View Post
Go back into advanced settings and make it look like this in the browser section.
That is tick both disable script debugging boxes, and untick the display notifications about script errors box.
No, that doesn't work for me.
I just tried it again.
I did it once before doing a re start, didn't work, did it again after a re start, then re started it again and did it yet again. No joy, I'm still getting the error messages, so I surrender to the demands of Microsoft or my computer, and will have to stick with Microsoft Edge. I want to keep such programs in house, and not use Google Chrome, Firefox or others.
So back I go to Microsoft Edge for the final time for me.
__________________
Good advice is usually ignored, but that's no reason for not giving it. Miss Marple.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 15th September 2016, 13:34
BobClay's Avatar
BobClay BobClay is offline
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Radio Officer
Active: 1965 - 1986
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
My location
Posts: 5,250
Well there is an option to Reset all the IE settings. However I believe Microsoft intend to phase out IE so whether it's worth sticking with it might be pointless.
__________________
"Irreverence is the champion of liberty and its only sure defense."
Mark Twain
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 15th September 2016, 13:52
jmcg's Avatar
jmcg jmcg is offline
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Deck
Active: 1966 - 1983
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,897
Dickey

A possible solution would be to clear all cookies especially if using Chrome as your browser. To do this go into settings (top right menu), advanced settings , content settings, all cookies and site data then click "remove all".

BW

J
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 15th September 2016, 14:13
Dickyboy's Avatar
Dickyboy Dickyboy is offline
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Deck
Active: 1964 - 2009
 
Join Date: May 2009
My location
Posts: 8,724
Thanks all. I'm going to leave things alone now. Microsoft Edge works, so I'll learn to like it
__________________
Good advice is usually ignored, but that's no reason for not giving it. Miss Marple.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 15th September 2016, 16:58
Farmer John's Avatar
Farmer John Farmer John is offline  
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Navigation
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,870
Used to be that you learnt to make your computer do what you wanted. Now it trains you to do what it thinks you should.
__________________
"The kitten and the snail got off the bus!"
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 15th September 2016, 18:15
BobClay's Avatar
BobClay BobClay is offline
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Radio Officer
Active: 1965 - 1986
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
My location
Posts: 5,250
Mine keeps calling me 'Dave' and is for ever asking me if I'm still full of enthusiasm for the mission ?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg HAL1.jpg (86.7 KB, 15 views)
__________________
"Irreverence is the champion of liberty and its only sure defense."
Mark Twain
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 15th September 2016, 18:51
Dickyboy's Avatar
Dickyboy Dickyboy is offline
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Deck
Active: 1964 - 2009
 
Join Date: May 2009
My location
Posts: 8,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobClay View Post
Mine keeps calling me 'Dave' and is for ever asking me if I'm still full of enthusiasm for the mission ?
HUH??
__________________
Good advice is usually ignored, but that's no reason for not giving it. Miss Marple.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 15th September 2016, 19:01
Farmer John's Avatar
Farmer John Farmer John is offline  
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Navigation
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,870
Autosketch ( a very powerful program that did more than many knew) had an error message listed in the handbook, but I never saw it

"Never was called, it shouldn't have been"

I would love to have seen that.
__________________
"The kitten and the snail got off the bus!"
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error Messages ? todd Computers and The Internet 3 4th January 2013 10:00
Pm Messages Waighty Royal Maritime Auxiliary Service 0 3rd March 2012 11:08



Support SN


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.