L'atlantique - Ships Nostalgia
22:23

Welcome
Welcome!Welcome to Ships Nostalgia, the world's greatest online community for people worldwide with an interest in ships and shipping. Whether you are crew, ex-crew, ship enthusiasts or cruisers, this is the forum for you. And what's more, it's completely FREE.

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.
User Name Password

L'atlantique

User Tag List

Old 20th May 2006, 02:16

L'atlantique

While noting the corrospondence on the "Pasteur" and her giant funnel, I was reminded of another belonging to that Company that had an extraordinarily short career of less than TWO years before she burnt in 1933 and after a long tussle with the insurers, was scrapped in 1936.
I know that I am only a novice on this site, but I find it extraordinary that other than a few old postcard views and grainy pics, there is next to nothing on the web that I can find about a ship that was the largest ever built for the Europe-South America service.
Can any members put me on the right track please.
Old 20th May 2006, 12:38
Super Moderator
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Engineering
Active: 1952 - 1965

Go to

http://ocean-liners.schuminweb.com/ships/l'atlantique.asp

see thread 6 for online click, this one does not click

Last edited by R58484956; 20th May 2006 at 15:43.. Reason: delete www
Old 20th May 2006, 13:06

My location
Also : http://francois.delboca.free.fr/fsatlan1.html
Old 20th May 2006, 13:08
Super Moderator

Web site

Sorry R58484956, I could not get the site address to connect, so I tried adding www. but with no success. Could you check please?

Fred
Old 20th May 2006, 13:12

A couple of interesting thumbnails of the L'Atlantique arriving on the Clyde to be scrapped.
http://www.portglasgow4u.co.uk/shipy...tlantique.html
The funnels were originally of normal length:
http://perso.wanadoo.fr/damien.julle...atlantique.htm

Bruce C.
Old 20th May 2006, 13:28
Organisation: Royal Navy