Ships Nostalgia banner

Medico stories

17K views 97 replies 39 participants last post by  gw4xxf 
#1 ·
How about some juicy MEDICO stories?
I am sure our sparkies have many of those.
With yr permission I shall open the thread with one of mine.
Back in 1959 I was a Chief Officer aboard a Zim log-carrier en route from 4XO to 9LL to pick up a bunch of Kroo-boys for a Gulf of Guinea round trip. We had a sick crew-member aboard and the master told me at lunch he was going to ask Sparks to cable 6VA for medical advice. I went on watch at 16:00 to find the Old Man on the bridge, quite agitated. I asked him what medical advise did he receive.
"The idiot of a doctor prescribed acid acetyl salicyl - a medicine we do not stock. I cabled back telling him that requesting an alternative."
I burst into laugh. I told him it was Aspirin. Only the doctors reply convinced him I was right.
It made me think that doctor was indeed, in a way, an idiot . He knew he was corresponding with a cargo ship, not with a cruise vessel hosting an annual pharmacists convention.

#2 ·
#1 . Think 6VA was Dakar Radio - I'm glad my life didn't depend on getting a reply out of them!

One time, crossing the Australian Bight the 3d Mate who was the "doctor" on board came up to the radio room wanting to make a medical call to Adelaide. He described the ailment of a sailor on board and I said: "Sounds like a dose of clap to me." He proceeded with the call and eventually spoke to a nurse at an Adelaide hospital. He described the symptoms and she said: "Sounds like a dose of clap to me!" Yeeeah! I was made up. We were only a couple of days from port so she said he could just put up with it.

John T

#5 · (Edited)