paddler question - Ships Nostalgia
17:10

Welcome
Welcome!Welcome to Ships Nostalgia, the world's greatest online community for people worldwide with an interest in ships and shipping. Whether you are crew, ex-crew, ship enthusiasts or cruisers, this is the forum for you. And what's more, it's completely FREE.

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.
User Name Password

paddler question

User Tag List

Old 27th October 2005, 12:59
Bilge Rat
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Engineering
Active: 1957 - 1963

My location
Thumbs up paddler question

can anyone tell me if there was ever a paddler built that had the capabilityof going ahead on one and astern on the other for manouvering? I think not, but my overeducated mate here says there was. anyone help on this one? I got a large tot staked on this one guy's
Old 27th October 2005, 14:39
Organisation: Maritime Enthusiast
Active: 1972 - 2002

I'm not a paddler expert, but, technically speaking, the only way would be to operate the port and starbord wheels with two indipendent engines.
Another way could be to insert two reverse gears between a single engine and the two wheels, but this looks quite intricate and scarcely reliable in manoeuvering, expecially in emergency.
So: has ever been built a paddler with two indipendent engines? The answer to our historical experts!
P.
Old 27th October 2005, 15:09

Hi:
There were a few.
I posted a picture in the Gallery of the train ferry 'Solano' on Oct. 2.
She had independent walking beam engines on the centerline, each attached to separate paddle shafts.
The following site has photos of a model of the ferry showing the configuration of the engines and shafts.
http://www.cprr.org/Museum/Ephemera/...rry_Model.html

Bruce C.
Old 27th October 2005, 15:31
Super Moderator
Active: 1962 - 2005

My location
To my knowlege independent drives to each paddle was the norm. As such they were very easy to manouver.