Island Princess - Ships Nostalgia
07:31

Welcome
Welcome!Welcome to Ships Nostalgia, the world's greatest online community for people worldwide with an interest in ships and shipping. Whether you are crew, ex-crew, ship enthusiasts or cruisers, this is the forum for you. And what's more, it's completely FREE.

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.
User Name Password

Island Princess

User Tag List

Old 16th October 2005, 01:04

Smile Island Princess

I sailed on Island Princess in 1977 wondered if anyone has any good pictures of her. At the time I worked as a Public Room Steward in the Look Out Bar , unsure if that was the correct name ( my memory fails me ). At the time was doing cruising to Alaska and then started Mexico. I also looked after the area by the pool which was really nice as it had the first covered slide style roof I had seen. It was really a nice ship but had not long been taken over by Princess Cruises as this was very early on the road to bigger and better things to come for Princess Cruise.When I get time I will post a few pictures of what I have.
Old 16th October 2005, 01:38

My location
Sounds about the time she starred in the TV series "The Love Boat". Were you an unwitting star yourself?
Old 16th October 2005, 07:18
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Hotels / Catering
Active: 1959 - 1993

My location
Ahoy Bob,

Here you are, a fine shot,just to see the pool.

http://img448.imageshack.us/img448/1...cess6ta.th.jpg
Built in 1971 as Island Venture
GRT:20186
Island Princess,
Hyundai Pungak,
Platinum,
Discovery.
Andaman Victory
Discovery
build by Rheinstahl Nordseewerken GmbH[414]-Emden-Germany
lxbxd:168,74x24,59x7,40
power:13240kW,speed:21,5kn
passengers:600
My piccies also @:
http://www.vesseltracker.com/en/Phot...06a43771da649b
Old 17th October 2005, 00:56

Island Princess