Introduction - Ships Nostalgia
06:48

Welcome
Welcome!Welcome to Ships Nostalgia, the world's greatest online community for people worldwide with an interest in ships and shipping. Whether you are crew, ex-crew, ship enthusiasts or cruisers, this is the forum for you. And what's more, it's completely FREE.

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.
User Name Password

Introduction

User Tag List

Old 22nd August 2008, 00:55

Introduction

I was an indentured apprentice with Houlder Brothers in 1948. I served in the S.S. Fraser River, S.S. Duquesa, M.V. Hornby Grange and finished my time in the S.S. Barton Grange

After that I sailed as third mate in the T.S.S. Hellenic Prince carrying migrants from the Mediterranean to Australia.
Then to M.V. Crosbian ( Ellerman Papayanni) -- Scandinavian run.
S.S. Lancastrian -- Mediterranean run ( Ellerman Papayanni)
S.S. Ardetta -- home trade (British and Continental)
S.S. Greypoint -- home trade (Coast Lines Limited)
M.V. Wyuna -- delivery voyage from Glasgow to Port Phillip , Melbourne.

MV Kootara -- Union Steamship Company -- Australian coast.
M.V. Kopua -- log trade between Australia and New Zealand.
M.V. Coromel -- blue-cod fishing off the Chatham Islands

Notice that the ships get smaller and smaller -- the Coromel was only 113 tons gross.

Last edited by Dogstar; 22nd August 2008 at 05:49..
Old 22nd August 2008, 03:33
Bilge Rat
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Engineering
Active: 1957 - 1963

My location
Welcome aboard from the Philippines. Enjoy all this great site has to offer
Old 22nd August 2008, 03:49
user

Dogstar, from Michigan, a warm welcome to Ships Nostalgia.
Good to have you onboard.
I wouldn't be surprised if you ran into some old shipmates here.

Bruce
Old 22nd August 2008, 04:04
gdynia gdynia is offline   SN Supporter
Department: Deck
Active: 1970 - 2010

My location
Welcome onboard to SN and enjoy the voyage
Old 22nd August 2008, 07:11