Colour picker problem - Ships Nostalgia
03:35

Welcome
Welcome!Welcome to Ships Nostalgia, the world's greatest online community for people worldwide with an interest in ships and shipping. Whether you are crew, ex-crew, ship enthusiasts or cruisers, this is the forum for you. And what's more, it's completely FREE.

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.
Log in
User Name Password

Colour picker problem

User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 21st September 2012, 09:01
rickles23's Avatar
rickles23 rickles23 is offline  
Senior Member
Organisation: Royal Navy
Department: Deck
Active: 1951 - 2010
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
My location
Posts: 1,992
Colour picker problem

Hi,
I noticed today that in the Photoshop CS3 colour picker instead of a red I was getting a murky orange colour.

I tried the Ctrl+Shift+Alt trick which has worked once before but no change.

I then uninstalled and the reinstalled CS3 but the problem remains.

I have added two photos:

#1 Should show Red but I get this Orange

#2 Is the colour Library

Help please.

Regards
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (17.1 KB, 23 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (21.7 KB, 18 views)

Last edited by rickles23; 21st September 2012 at 09:11.. Reason: More information
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st September 2012, 16:49
Duncan112's Avatar
Duncan112 Duncan112 is offline  
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Engineering
Active: 1981 - 2003
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
My location
Posts: 3,510
Might be trying to suggest that you suck eggs but:

Has the calibration on your monitor slipped?

Have you tried loading an image that you know has the red you want in it, sampling with the dropper and seeing what the colour mix is identified as?

Do you have the same problem with all colour systems?

Finally if you have access to another image program such as PSP do you have the same problems?
__________________
“Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.”

George Santayana (1863 - 1952)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st September 2012, 17:35
Farmer John's Avatar
Farmer John Farmer John is offline  
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Navigation
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,932
I don't think it is a software problem, If you check the RGB numbers you Have 255, 0, 0 and It caint get redder than that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd September 2012, 08:21
rickles23's Avatar
rickles23 rickles23 is offline  
Senior Member
Organisation: Royal Navy
Department: Deck
Active: 1951 - 2010
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
My location
Posts: 1,992
CS3 Colour Picker

Hi and thank you for the replies,

Has the calibration on your monitor slipped. No

Have you tried loading an image that you know has the red you want in it, sampling with the dropper and seeing what the colour mix is identified as. Yes and I still get Red as orange although the number is 255

Do you have the same problem with all colour systems. No just the red

Finally if you have access to another image program such as PSP do you have the same problems. No

I also loaded the CS3 onto the laptop and the red is the actual colour red.

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd September 2012, 14:45
rickles23's Avatar
rickles23 rickles23 is offline  
Senior Member
Organisation: Royal Navy
Department: Deck
Active: 1951 - 2010
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
My location
Posts: 1,992
Update

Hi,


I printed off a square of that colour (255) but it printed the same shade of orange.

I also loaded the CS3 onto the laptop which has Windows 7 and the red is the actual colour red.

Tomorrow, my time, I will load CS3 onto a spare desktop which is also XP to see if the same happens.

Attached is a small picture and on the monitor I see the exact shade of red.
But when I load it into CS3 the red changes to that orange and CS3 says it is 255.

Regards
Attached Images
File Type: jpg BD05299_.jpg (18.6 KB, 7 views)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th September 2012, 08:26
rickles23's Avatar
rickles23 rickles23 is offline  
Senior Member
Organisation: Royal Navy
Department: Deck
Active: 1951 - 2010
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
My location
Posts: 1,992
Hi
Finally solved that problem.

I uninstalled the program, used another program to get Adobe Utilities - CS5 - ExtendScript Toolkit CS5 out of the system.

Next was a program called Uninstaller to track down any connected files.

Apparently there is a folder that is usually missed called Bonjour

Next the Registry but I always do a backup before going any further.

I had to go into:

HKEY_CURRENT_CONFIG

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE

HKEY_CURRENT_USER

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT

to get all the Adobe out of the system.

Finally open up the hidden files and folders because there are a lot more in there.

Reinstalled CS3 and the red is red and prints red all back to normal.

I hate computers.

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24th September 2012, 18:14
Duncan112's Avatar
Duncan112 Duncan112 is offline  
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Engineering
Active: 1981 - 2003
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
My location
Posts: 3,510
Thanks Rickles, one to leave in the memory banks.

Seriously though it's always useful when a problem has been solved that the cure is posted as you have done rather than leave the thread open ended. Many thanks
__________________
“Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.”

George Santayana (1863 - 1952)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24th September 2012, 21:21
Farmer John's Avatar
Farmer John Farmer John is offline  
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Navigation
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,932
Impressive erudition there, did you work out what had broken it? My guess would be some profiling of printer, monitor colour space or some such, but it is a guess only.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25th September 2012, 07:56
rickles23's Avatar
rickles23 rickles23 is offline  
Senior Member
Organisation: Royal Navy
Department: Deck
Active: 1951 - 2010
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
My location
Posts: 1,992
Hi both,

That was "easy," the difficult part comes now to play with settings to replicate the problem

That's the next job and the reason for installing it on the spare desktop.

I have an idea it might be either a Registery Cleaner or CrapCleaner.

I cannot replicate it through CS3.

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26th September 2012, 17:23
John Rogers's Avatar
John Rogers John Rogers is online now  
Senior Member
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Engineering
Active: 1947 - 1954
 
Join Date: May 2004
My location
Posts: 11,481
Bonjour is Apple's implementation of Zero configuration networking (Zeroconf), a group of technologies that includes service discovery, address assignment, and host name resolution. Bonjour locates devices such as printers, other computers, and the services that those devices offer on a local network using multicast Domain Name System (mDNS) service records.

The software comes built-in with Apple's OS X and iOS operating systems. Bonjour can also be installed onto computers running Microsoft Windows. Bonjour components may also be included within other software such as iTunes and Safari.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 28th September 2012, 08:45
rickles23's Avatar
rickles23 rickles23 is offline  
Senior Member
Organisation: Royal Navy
Department: Deck
Active: 1951 - 2010
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
My location
Posts: 1,992
Hi John,

That is interesting, Bonjour re-installed itself before I reloaded CS3. CS3 is behaving itself so far.

It could be possible that there was a hiccup with the original Bonjour and the new one is more stable.

A lot of CS3 and up users always include Bonjour in their uninstall so what I might try is to delete something in the Folder and see if it upsets CS3.

Regards
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An engineroom with a problem... 40907 The Engine Room 4 21st January 2011 08:16
Problem charles henry Computers and The Internet 10 2nd August 2009 00:02
Log in problem John Briggs Computers and The Internet 11 15th August 2007 19:21
Bit Problem tercar Computers and The Internet 12 28th May 2006 16:07



Support SN


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.