"Al Andalus" of KOTC (1975) - Ships Nostalgia
14:44

Welcome
Welcome!Welcome to Ships Nostalgia, the world's greatest online community for people worldwide with an interest in ships and shipping. Whether you are crew, ex-crew, ship enthusiasts or cruisers, this is the forum for you. And what's more, it's completely FREE.

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.
User Name Password

"Al Andalus" of KOTC (1975)

User Tag List

Old 23rd December 2017, 12:56

"Al Andalus" of KOTC (1975)

Just uploaded a photo that I found in my " archives" to the Gallery. Its of Kuwait Oil Tanker Co's " Al Andalus",taken up the Gulf, which Auke Visser's splendid website tells me was 362,946 dwt and built 1975 by Astano at El Ferrol, but scrapped in 1985.Are any SN readers familiar with her?
As an old steamship engineer I'm interested that she was a twin-screw steamship and therefore must have had a pretty impressive engine room. Can anyone answer the following for me-
- did she have any sisterships or was she a one-off?
- if a one-off, would that make her the biggest ship ever built in Spain?
- was she an economy build, or state-of -the-art for her time?
- was she scrapped so early purely because of operating costs, or did she have other problems?
I would be interested to hear comments and recollections on what was one of the largest vessels I ever saw while at sea.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Al Andalus.jpg (127.0 KB, 112 views)

Last edited by Steve Hodges; 23rd December 2017 at 13:04.. Reason: Inaccuracy
Old 15th February 2018, 22:39
Organisation: Merchant Navy
Department: Engineering
Active: 1967 - 1982

Smile Don Walker. 3rd Engineer. Common Bros. Newcastle.

In the early 70s Common Bros. Managed VLCC Tankers for KOTCo S.T. AL. Sabbiyah. S.T. Arabiyah. S.T. Alfuntas. S.T. AL Badiah Which I sailed on her last voyage before being handed back to KOTCo. Late 1973.