·
Registered
23,019 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)

Attachments

·
Registered
66 Posts
As to a better use for the gun barrels, when I was a pressure systems surveyor i had to inspect the high pressure chambers used to grow crystals for semi conductors and was told they had originally used 15" naval gun barrels modified to be sealed as they were perfect for the pressures and temperatures needed.

·
Registered
256 Posts
Luv It!

Reminds me of Festival Week in Dunedin, New Zealand in 1955 or '56. The cruiser HMNZS Black Prince was tied up alongside, and a lot of matelots, dressed and painted up as pirates, came into the city centre about a mile away, rounded up all the kids they could find, and took us back to the ship! They had a canvas chute rigged from the bridge wing down to the wharf, so one could climb up the gangway, roam around the ship, swing the Bofors around & up & down, grab bags of sweets, fizzy drinks, lots of food, get to the bridge, slide down the chute, & then go and do it all over again! We didn't have the gun swings (that would have been memorable, especially as my father was an RN destroyer gunnery officer at the end of the war).
It wouldn't happen today - the Fun Police & OSH would have fits at sailors absconding with their kids back to a warship, then showing them a 'good time'.
I will never forget it.