Ships Nostalgia banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
549 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Just uploaded a photo that I found in my " archives" to the Gallery. Its of Kuwait Oil Tanker Co's " Al Andalus",taken up the Gulf, which Auke Visser's splendid website tells me was 362,946 dwt and built 1975 by Astano at El Ferrol, but scrapped in 1985.Are any SN readers familiar with her?
As an old steamship engineer I'm interested that she was a twin-screw steamship and therefore must have had a pretty impressive engine room. Can anyone answer the following for me-
- did she have any sisterships or was she a one-off?
- if a one-off, would that make her the biggest ship ever built in Spain?
- was she an economy build, or state-of -the-art for her time?
- was she scrapped so early purely because of operating costs, or did she have other problems?
I would be interested to hear comments and recollections on what was one of the largest vessels I ever saw while at sea.

Attachments

·
Registered
2 Posts
Don Walker. 3rd Engineer. Common Bros. Newcastle.

In the early 70s Common Bros. Managed VLCC Tankers for KOTCo S.T. AL. Sabbiyah. S.T. Arabiyah. S.T. Alfuntas. S.T. AL Badiah Which I sailed on her last voyage before being handed back to KOTCo. Late 1973.

These ships were all sister ships of around 230 ooo Tonnes. I remember being approached by KOTCo. To join their fleet. Some engineers did make the move and it all appeared amicable with Common Bros.The S.T Kazimah. and S.T. WARBAH which I sailed on remained a bit longer. Sorry to say I have no recollection of AL.Andalus however I suspect it was a one off, but it does look fabulous ,especially loaded and under full steam. Love it.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Santa María