Ships Nostalgia banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
Does anyone have any information regarding the above mentioned ships?
I am after anything to do with the engines, and when the ship was built.
My grandfather was on them as 2nd Engineer from 16/6/42 - May 1946.
Thanks,
Hannah

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks!

Thanks guys, that website is marvellous!
Finding everything I'm looking for on this website, plus a whole lot more!
Thanks to both of you gentlemen!
Hannah :)(A)

·
Premium Member
14,864 Posts
MV Ettrickbank Doxford engine 4 cylinder 2S CSA 23 5/8" x 91 5/16ths".

MV Myrtlebank H&W diesel 6 cylinder 4S CSA 24 13/16 x 37 13/16ths"

·
Registered
160 Posts
Myrtlebank

I was an Apprentice in the "Myrtlebank" in 1949-1950.IF memory serves she was twin screw, with Burmeister and Wayne,blast injection injection diesel engines.Rated for twelve knots,she struggled to manage ten,and that with a following wind.There was a fixed routine at the end of a long voyage.The engines were stopped in turn and the inlet valves were overhauled.Failing this.there was no certainty that the engines would restart after the first port movement.The American pilots in the Panama canal blanched at the sight of her and insisted in a tug at bow and stern for the canal transit.Small starting air reservoirs limited the number of port engine movements that could be made.One of my happier memories,the engines failing to start as we moved remorselessly across Kiddepore docks,embedding ourselves in a "busti".
Unmodernised in 1950 she was a horrible 1925 relic-no running fresh water,baths out of buckets, that had to be heated on the galley stove.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Myrtlebank

Yard No. 683

Vessel Type Cargo Ship
Built Govan Yard, Glasgow
Launch Date Thursday 29 October 1925
Slip No. 3
Handover Date Tuesday 29 December 1925
Owner Bank Line Ltd
Weight 5150 grt
BP Length 420 Feet
OA Length 434-9 Feet
Breath 53-9 Feet