Ships Nostalgia banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dear all,
I'm a french journalist working on the history of WW1.
I have found a photo of french soldiers in Greece in 1915. They are on a ship where I can read "Cory Brothers".
Do you have informations about this company?
Thanks for your help.

Attachments

·
Registered
3,139 Posts
Looks like a coal barge/lighter and therefore to Cory Bros. of London who transported coal to London in their own colliers and distributer it in to barges/lighters and delivered it to various places on the Thames, it still exists to-day in tugs and barges but in rubbish.
Cory.JPG

·
Premium Member
8,982 Posts
Cory were also into barges and their towage in Southampton up until the 60s at least. I don't know if they are still in Southampton, I suspect not.

·
Registered
3,139 Posts
Cory were also into barges and their towage in Southampton up until the 60s at least. I don't know if they are still in Southampton, I suspect not.
Corys form South Coast Shipping (Southampton) with sand dredgers using all their coal berths converting the to a aggregate berth all dredgers used the black diamond funnel with suffix SAND(Bird names) until taken over by Ready Mix Concrete (RMC) and now CEMEX. The infamous SAND KESTRAL hit the Thames barrier so all ships had the black diamond painted out.(Pint)

·
Registered
753 Posts
There were two companies, Cory Brothers and William Cory & co, I do not know if they were connected in any way. I worked for William Cory & Co for 3years 1962 to 1965 at that time they had a fleet of ships made up of 4 deep sea iron ore carriers, 2 deep sea oil tankers, 6 coastal chemical carriers and numerous colliers.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Wm. Cory and brothers: iron ore ships - Murmansk run

I worked for William Cory & Co for 3years 1962 to 1965 at that time they had a fleet of ships made up of 4 deep sea iron ore carriers, 2 deep sea oil tankers, 6 coastal chemical carriers and numerous colliers.