Ships Nostalgia banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
If a horse is harnessed to a cart, the collar is around its neck. Ropes are taken from the collar and fastened to the shafts of the cart. The shafts are then slung from the harness on the back of the horse. ( Hope I've made this clear ! )
When the horse moves forward, is it pushing against the collar, or pulling the cart?

fred

" horses for courses "

·
Registered
1,299 Posts
fredkinghorn said:
If a horse is harnessed to a cart, the collar is around its neck. Ropes are taken from the collar and fastened to the shafts of the cart. The shafts are then slung from the harness on the back of the horse. ( Hope I've made this clear ! )
When the horse moves forward, is it pushing against the collar, or pulling the cart?

fred

" horses for courses "
Fred,
I think that the horse is pushing the collar which in turn pulls the cart via the ropes, I am an expert on horses & can confirm that they usually have a leg on each corner (except the ones that my son gives me tips for.) LOL (Thumb)

·
Registered
570 Posts
If an Orange is Orange in colour, then why isn't a Lemon called a Yellow??
And why do they call Shutters, Shutters? When they can be opened as well?

·
Registered
161 Posts
The horse uses it's own weight in pushing against the collar to get the cart started, once moving it pulls against the chains and shafts to maintain movement.
I remember watching them do this in Liverpool docks in the mid 1950's

Bill

·
Registered
17 Posts
As Einstein said Fred - It's all relative (ity).

Which reminds me I still remember our milkman's horse farting when I was a kid. I was truly impressed by the duration, pitch and timbre of the sound - must have been to remember it after all this time. (EEK)

Brian

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
oglebilluk,. I think you have supplied the best answer. I have never really had one that I could relate to, but yours seems to be the best of the lot.

fred.