Ships Nostalgia banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
544 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone remember the coaster 'Indorita' - she plied the Irish Sea sailing into Holyhead on a few occasions. Often wonder what happened to her and/or who acttually owned her. Think she was Goole registered. :confused:

·
Premium Member
14,864 Posts
MV Indorita, 201 tons built 1920 by I J Abdela & Mitchell, Queensferry.
108.6 x 22.1 x 9.4. Oil engine by Bollinger 2Cy 2S CSA. machinery aft. Registered Chester. British flag. Owned by Coppack Bros & Co;.

·
Registered
544 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks!
Bit far to push but.....wonder what happened to her? (*))

·
Registered
62 Posts
When I was an apprentice ship fitter in Birkenhead (William Cubbin's)
I had the pleasure of working on the Indorita , doing some repairs, she had a very unique Bollinder engine, Swiss I believe. It was a two cylinder job, with a big blow lamp on each cylinder head that was fired by methylated spirits. you had to heat the cylinder head up before you tried to start the main engine. I actually sailed up the dock, and so got to experience the engine running.
That engine should have definatelyhave ended up in a museum.
She had a sister ship who's name escapes me
She was owned by Coppack Bros but carried cargo for Shotton iron works
Geoff Bray

·
Banned
21 Posts
Indorita
Built by Abdela and Mitchell’s Queensferry, for John Summers Steel Works, Shotton. Launched 1920 and in service 1921. Inward cargoes of pig iron from Workington, ***bria and outward cargoes of steel sheets and basic ash. Dimensions 108’ x 22’ x 10’. Re-engined in 1958 with Crossley 240 b.h.p engine. Working life ended 1970.

·
Registered
1,304 Posts