Ships Nostalgia banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
328 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
While noting the corrospondence on the "Pasteur" and her giant funnel, I was reminded of another belonging to that Company that had an extraordinarily short career of less than TWO years before she burnt in 1933 and after a long tussle with the insurers, was scrapped in 1936.
I know that I am only a novice on this site, but I find it extraordinary that other than a few old postcard views and grainy pics, there is next to nothing on the web that I can find about a ship that was the largest ever built for the Europe-South America service.
Can any members put me on the right track please.

·
Premium Member
5,620 Posts
Web site

Sorry R58484956, I could not get the site address to connect, so I tried adding www. but with no success. Could you check please?

Fred (Thumb)

·
Premium Member
5,620 Posts
l'Atlantique

Thank you Hugh. I agree with the diplomatic comments on the website. I think that externally, she was probably the ugliest passenger ship to be built between the Wars. No sheer, very upright, divide the length by four and place a squat funnel at each of the intermediate points.
The replacement, Pasteur was the second ugliest. Continue to divide the hull by four and place a stupidly high funnel at the first intermediate point from the bow.
Interestingly, most of the publicity material is artist drawings that ignore how clumsy both designs were, or bow shots that foreshorten the profile.

Fred

·
Registered
328 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
S..t guys that was an absolutly amazing response!!!
Thanks heaps.
Yes I agree with the comments that they really must be amongst the ugliest Liners ever in pre WW2 times, with maybe the exception of the weird square funneled ships of Messageries Maritimes during the same period.
I wonder why the Frog Naval architects who were able to produce the glorious Normandie (amongst others) could design such duds!!