Ships Nostalgia banner

1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was a junior engineer on the M V Centaur in 1978-79. Sailing out of Freemantle for round trips to Singapore and Penang. Just wondering if there is anyone else who who sailed on her or remembers her.

·
Premium Member
14,864 Posts
Greetings Pertius and a warm welcome to SN from a member in the south of England. Plenty of us engineers on board. Enjoy the site and bon voyage.

·
Registered
444 Posts
Hi Pertius,

I was a BF 4/Eng and sailed on the Centaur around 66/67. I relieved due to illness. A wonderful ship. We wont see her likes again.

Welcome to the site.

I served my apprenticeship ashore and watched her being built.

regards

·
Registered
985 Posts
Yes I remember the Centaur well. Brought her in and out of Fremantle heaps of times on the tugs. Recall in the early days we used to berth her and then shift her over the other side of the harbour and then back to load passengers.
When the passenger ship trade died away she had the passenger berth to herself.
My wife did a trip to Singapore and back on her in 1966 before we were married. Her close friend married an engineer on board then, Arthur Frodsham (spellling?) and he was later chief in State Ships.
For a large part of my 30 years on the tugs in Freo Centaur was part of the scene. She sailed unheralded and looking sad for the last time in a winter gale and driving rain. Apart from her paying off pennant, the tug Wato in attendance and the mooring gang there was no fanfare at all. Sad.........
I must try and dig out some pictures some day.

·
Registered
121 Posts