Ships Nostalgia banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3,076 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My MS Word has stopped working
It says "Winword.Exe is on the hard drive.
Don't understand this.
I have lost all my CC addresses.
Please advise .. someone!!

·
Registered
7,489 Posts
Do you have a fully paid for and up to date copy of Windows Word?
If it is an annual subscription it will stop working when the sub needs renewing.
When installed the program is put on a virtual drive which users cannot access. It IS on the hard drive, but in something called a 'Q' partition.

·
Registered
3,076 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Gentlemen :
Please explain in more detail.
I tried Googling Windows world but got nothing but double glazing adverts.
For 365 I was directed to The Year,
I have been using MS Word for many years and parts of it still works but not the majority..
Please continue your advice
Regards

·
Registered
96 Posts
George,
If your subscription has run out have a look at Libre Office. Its free and has everything MS office has.
Roger.

·
Registered
7,489 Posts
George,
Do you know what version of Microsoft Office you have installed?
Was it on separate disc which you installed or did it come with the PC?

If it came with any fairly recent PC then it would be what is called 'MS Office 365' - so called because the licence lasts 365 days before it needs renewing.
Effectively Microsoft only rent you the applications, unlike in the past when you bought them outright.
If it is an older, paid for, version then it will show up in your program files and if you have the original disc you can even reinstall it.
As Roger says, you can get FREE Office, or word processing, applications which work just as well as Microsoft. Well worth considering.

·
Registered
3,076 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks Gentlemen
As far as I know MS Word came with Win 10 which I had about a year ago.
The files I want are still in the computer somewhere as I can see them on a list.