Ships Nostalgia banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
186 Posts
Hello R798780

I had my 21st Birthday onboard the MV Luxor on the 26th of January 1966 so I know for definite it was in Calcutta. I was a junior Engineer at the time. It was a great Ship to be on.

Unfortunately my life at sea was short but never forgotten.

Semaj.

·
Registered
935 Posts
Luxor was my first ship 23/2/61 to 3/8/61. Always remember the Master was Bill Luckey and as far as I can rmember we did a couple of trips to the Meddy and a couple to Venezuela, and possibly one to the Gulf. Not too sure now (Mists of Time!!).
My next trip was on the Old Lumen, built around 1950, and it was terrible, but that is another story.......................pete

·
Registered
186 Posts
pete said:
Luxor was my first ship 23/2/61 to 3/8/61. Always remember the Master was Bill Luckey and as far as I can rmember we did a couple of trips to the Meddy and a couple to Venezuela, and possibly one to the Gulf. Not too sure now (Mists of Time!!).
My next trip was on the Old Lumen, built around 1950, and it was terrible, but that is another story.......................pete
You were lucky pete it must have been nearly new when you were on it.

(Thumb)

·
Super Moderator
7,204 Posts
Capt Bill Lucky

I never did sail on the Luxor ( My brother Cameron did however )
I sailed with Luckey Bill a couple of times ; as 2 nd Eng and as Chief Eng . He was a great Guy ! Twice in the water during the war ! He was also a very good table tennis player. On his last trip he had few who would be able to take a game . Also was a great Crib Player and would get really pissed off when playing doubles if you dropped the wrong card . I sailed with him on the Lumen as 2nd Eng in 1972 and his last trip on the Lusterous in 1974 . He left the ship in west africa , We gave him a mersham pipe and had the mechant navy programme play him a record and good wishes " Bridge Over Troubled Waters ."